New3DS XL NAND Mod not working

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by xidus, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    Hey guys,
    I've trouble in dumping/restoring the NAND of my New 3DS XL. I've wired everything up correctly and it even goes to the Bootrom Error Screen. But then when I connect the SD Reader to my PC, it doesn't show any SD Card. Every Contact is bridged correctly where needed(to make the reader believe an SD Card is inserted), but the PC says "insert media".
    IDK what's wrong, that are the correct pins on the Mainboard and the console boots up correctly without reader. It even works on other New3DS Consoles and old3DS Consoles.
    Has anyone an idea and may helpme with this issue? If you need any other informations, just ask me.
    Thanks in advance,
    Xidus.
     


  2. A_Bricked_Guy

    A_Bricked_Guy Member

    Newcomer
    34
    17
    Feb 3, 2016
    Try another SD Reader, which one are you using?
     
  3. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    I was using some cheap Hama ones, which are MMC compatible. Don't know what to do next, because it should work...
     
  4. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    Maybe I should mention that the Error Code varies, especially the last line, changrs between 00000200 00040000(most times), 00000200 00000000 and 00000400 00000000
     
  5. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....

    Member
    1,853
    891
    Nov 21, 2015
    United States
    Acworth, GA
    Soldering issue on sd card.
     
  6. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    Now, I've checked everything and can verify that there doesn't seem to be a problem, on both readers.
     
  7. Ricardo Cariaga

    Ricardo Cariaga Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    @xidus - hi did you figure it out ?.. i got same things here. my PC did not recognize my 3ds. i triple check all my connection and its all perfectly connected in the right spot.
     
  8. BaconSocks

    BaconSocks Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    I have the same issue. I just did the hardmod to my N3DS last night. Not knowing if I did it correctly and hoping I didn't screw up the N3DS for 7 hours (yes it took me 7 hours because I was scared of screwing things up, also I was researching at the time as well) was killing me.

    But finally I was able to close it back up, and it booted just fine. I made sure everything works and it did.

    THEN, following a youtube video, I turned it off, connected the SD-Card contraption, turned on the N3DS, and it came up with the BSOD with a bunch of numbers on it:

    BOOTROM 8046
    ERRCODE: 00F800FE
    00000000 00000000
    00000400 00000000

    The guy didn't show his numbers on his screen on the youtube video, so I assumed that everything was working correctly because it was following the video.

    So I connected the SD-Card contraption to an SD Card Reader (IOGEAR 56-1 Memory Card Reader/Writer).

    Then I connected the SD Card Reader to my Windows 7 computer.

    Now, my computer didn't prompt me to "format the drive" like it did in the video.

    Nor does Win32Disk Writer see any valid drives.

    I don't know where my disconnect is. I don't know how to test each part of the link. How do I know my N3DS is wired correctly? how do I know if my SD-Card contraption is wired correctly? How do I know if my SD Card Reader is supported? (well, for the SD Card Reader,it DOES work with regular SD cards and whatnot...)

    Can anybody shed any guidance?

    Thanks!
     
  9. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    For one console' I've fixed this by using yet another Card Reader(same like the first one which worked with every console by now) and Redo the Wiring, Same Error Code(00000400 .....) and now it works, Windows doesn't promt for format drive(Win10) but Win32DiskImager recognizes it. I'll check the other one tomorrow
     
  10. BaconSocks

    BaconSocks Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    You redid the wiring inside the console or the SD Card?
     
  11. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    Both sides
     
  12. Ricardo Cariaga

    Ricardo Cariaga Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    Hi. someone say's you need 3.0 usb card reader. how a bout you XIDUS did you use 3.0 card reader thats why it works ?. i dont have 3.0 usb card reader.
     
  13. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    Why would you need a 3.0 reader? The USB Protocol is only for the communication between reader and PC.
    It should work totally fine with a 2.0 reader, everything else would be nonsense.
     
  14. Ricardo Cariaga

    Ricardo Cariaga Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    i have 2 different card readers and i try it both but nothings happened. i redo all the wirings and i know its completely right. i dont know what ive missed. i did this to OLD3ds xl and my USB card readers works fine. i dont know how to figure it out. im stuck...[​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. xidus
    OP

    xidus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 7, 2016
    France
    are you tryna kill your console? Why the fuck are you using unisolated cables?!?
     
  16. Ricardo Cariaga

    Ricardo Cariaga Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    Oh. thats wire called magnet wires its wraps with transparent hard coating. i dont know how to explain that wire but try looking in the google. about my 3ds i resolve my problem you are right you can use USB2.0 i try to find my ols card reader from my old camera and its working fine now but the transfer rate is only 50kb i waited almost 1 hrs to finish the 2gb back up nand.
     
  17. BaconSocks

    BaconSocks Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    is it me or is your CLK not in the correct corner of that 2x2 pad area?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    are you trying to access the NAND like this? doesn't it have to be powered on?
     
  18. Ricardo Cariaga

    Ricardo Cariaga Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    @BaconSocks - Hi. its working and i downgrade in 10.5 to 10.2 Spoof firmware to downgrade 9.2-20U. that 4 gold things is all CLK spot so no worries if you sold in either way try to check by multitester.
     
  19. BaconSocks

    BaconSocks Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    That's good to know! I'm redoing my soldering right now and I just finished removing existing wires
     
  20. BaconSocks

    BaconSocks Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    damn it. i ripped a ribbon. Sigh.