New3DS bricked after upgrade?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Enzor89, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. Enzor89
    OP

    Enzor89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 1, 2017
    Hello,

    I have a New3DS that I had with Luma3ds and arm9loaderhax (so I used only sysnand).

    Today I updated the software via the console option and after that the console is black with blue light, without doing anything else.

    I've been trying to restore a copy of sysnand but either I do not know or it does not work. Since after that it indicated that it could not mount the ctrnand. When trying the steps for it the first one does not generate the ticket.db to me.

    Right now the console does not access hourglass or similar like decryptw9.

    What I can do ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Hyoretsu

    Hyoretsu Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader

    Member
    1,579
    296
    Jan 17, 2016
    Brazil
    Already tried updating Luma3DS?
     
  3. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Undeclared Shitposter 2.1

    Member
    5,798
    2,161
    Jan 11, 2016
    Japan
    日本
    Arm9loaderhax on root? Corrupt sd card?
     
  4. Enzor89
    OP

    Enzor89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 1, 2017
    Hello

    Hyoretsu. Thank you very much for answering.

    I proceeded to update (although using Lumaupdater was already updated) Luma3ds.

    Now at least I can access Hourglass and so on.

    The error of mounting the ctrnand continues to appear

    I have process saved the sysnands and emunands. From emunand I have formatted, original and unbricked copy; And original and unbricked sysnand.

    Also I have a backup of sysnand with arm9lhax that I do not know if it will work.

    Which one is the correct one and how do I proceed?

    Thanks again.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hello proflayton123,

    Yes, I followed the procedure for what the 3ds will be with only sysnand.

    Card problem? It could be, some of the same make and model has given me problem of not being able to overwrite them soon. But is not the case.

    Maybe a faulty software update or trap?

    Thank you also for your interest ;)
     
  5. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]

    Member
    2,658
    1,150
    Feb 16, 2015
    United States
    California
    Ok, lets asume, first that you have/had a9lh, get an sd card and just place the arm9loaderhax.bin from luma, and check if it gives you the LUMA settings at boot.
     
  6. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,144
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    He already said he can access H9/D9 after updating Luma .. If you actually read what he said you'll see his issue is now that on boot he gets "Failed to mount CTRNAND" error, and does not know which backup to use to restore his console.

    I don't understand how updating the console can result in CTRNAND error in the first place though.. That usually only happens during the hacking process.
     
  7. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]

    Member
    2,658
    1,150
    Feb 16, 2015
    United States
    California
    If he can enter H9 or D9, then he can perform a 9.2 CTR transfer, and start again from that point.
     
  8. Enzor89
    OP

    Enzor89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 1, 2017
    Hello how are you
    Thanks again to both of you.

    In effect right now if I can access the various options. I'm going to try the CTR Transfer.

    What should I do next?

    Will I lose the games and their saved games?

    Again, thank you very much, you are both very kind; ).
     
  9. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]

    Member
    2,658
    1,150
    Feb 16, 2015
    United States
    California
    Do a CTR transfer, and if you lost your nand back up, start the 3DS guide from scratch after having 9.2.

    If CTR Transfer does not remove A9LH, then just update normally after the transfer.
     
  10. Enzor89
    OP

    Enzor89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 1, 2017
    Hello,

    Thanks again for continuing to help me.

    Finally I was able to copy the sysnand with ar9hax to "revive" the console.

    However games do not appear. I suppose they have been deleted along with the games.

    If the saved games can be recovered, please tell me how.

    Thanks again ;)
    ____________

    Hello,

    Now I have Sys version 11.3.0-36E.

    For its part, the FBI is in the box Health and safety.

    How I should proceed ? Which manual or guide do I follow?

    Thanks again.
     
    Last edited by Enzor89, Mar 16, 2017
  11. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,144
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    whoops nvm
     
    Last edited by Distrance, Mar 18, 2017
  12. el_gonz87

    el_gonz87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,559
    929
    Aug 24, 2016
    United States
    No. Just no. Saves do not go on NAND for 3DS games. They are actually stored on SD.

    If the console was not formatted after the backup, then it will have the movable.sed and will be able to decrypt the saves. All they have to do is restore tickets and content will also be there.

    If it was formatted after backup then they lose the saves because they don't have the movable.sed to decrypt them, NOT because saves are stored in NAND lol.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  13. leonmagnus99

    leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,451
    606
    Apr 2, 2013
    Seinegald
    this is so weird, what mSD were you using ?
    was it a legit one ?

    i never had once any issue updating my n3ds/3ds which both run on (updated sysNAND only).
    Luma cfw.

    it always sucks losing data, specifically the saves.
     
  14. Enzor89
    OP

    Enzor89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 1, 2017
    Hello,

    First of all, thanks again for your help.

    Like I said the FBI had Health and Safety. I think I remember that when I did the "hacking" process at a certain time the FBI was installed as a .cia and then removed from Health and Safety.

    I have tried installing FBI as a file but it gives error.

    As for the games and games, you will indicate me, but please, me how to do it.

    Thanks again for everything.
     
  15. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,144
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Ah ok, thanks for correcting me. I actually asked this a while back in one thread, and was told they're on NAND so I was under the impression that's the case, but at the same time it kinda seemed off so I wasn't 100% on that.
     
  16. Enzor89
    OP

    Enzor89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 1, 2017
    Hi,

    Actually the problem is I can`t install FBI.cia.

    "Failed to insall CIA file.
    Result code: 0xC8E083FC
    Level: Status (25)
    Summary: Invalid argument (7)
    Module: AM (32)
    Desc: Already exists (1020)"


    What steps can I take?

    And after solving this, how do I remove FBI Health and Safety again?

    And in his case, if there is possibility to reinstall the games, thus recovering the games that had.

    Thanks again to everyone for trying to help me.