New to emulation on DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by kabuki man, Dec 24, 2009.

Dec 24, 2009

New to emulation on DS by kabuki man at 1:59 AM (1,094 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

1. kabuki man
    OP

Newcomer kabuki man Newbie

United States
    Hi i'm new to emulation on DS (not new to emulation though). I'm looking into getting a flash cart for my DSlite and there are so many I just can't figure out which one to get. I mainly want it to run newer games as well as NES and SNES games.

Another question i have is if i get a flash cart is that all I need? or do I need a memory card also? Basically i'm asking what is every item i need to buy to get my DS turned into an emulation machine (obviously for the older games its the games I own, just in portable form).

Posts merged

Also, is a 2 GB limit gonna be the highest I can go?

2. _Chaz_

Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

United States
    You need the flash cart and a memory card (microSDHC).

For the flash cart, I recomend the CycloDS Evolution. It's amazingly simple, no DLDI patching needed, and I have yet to have a problem with it.
    As for the limit, no. 2 GB is not the highest. I have seen 16GB and some speak of a 32GB card.

Emulation info can be found in the DS emulation forums here.

3. kabuki man
    OP

United States
    So the GB limit doesn't involve the flash cart i'm guessing. Just any microSDHC(or whichever you said) will work?

4. DanTheManMS

Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

United States
    The GB limit depends on whether or not your device supports SDHC. The standard SD card limit is 2 GB, but SDHC bumps it up to 32 GB. Every card available nowadays (except for the original R4, which you should avoid) supports SDHC.