new operation mode for SCDS2?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by gegl, Mar 14, 2011.

Mar 14, 2011

new operation mode for SCDS2? by gegl at 5:18 PM (2,050 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. gegl
    OP

    Newcomer gegl Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Austria
    Hi!

    I thought of a new operation mode and wondered if this would technically be possible.


    I assume this is right (dont have a 3ds to check):
    if a game is played trough a flashcard on N3DS the activity log will
    think the game, wich the flashcard pretets to be, is logged and not the game
    which is actually played.

    So i wondered if it was possible to run a program on the SCDS2s own CPU wich loads
    a ROM file from SD card to pretend to be a retail cartridge.
    This program would have to be loaded by firmware (or better: like firmware)

    This would mean that no hack is used to run a game and therefore no in-game menu (cheats, realtime save,...)
    is accessible and no homebrew could be run, ...

    I think this mode could offer 100% clean ROM support since it acts as retail cartridge and no unlicensed code is run on the ds.
    Maybe this mode is even undetectable. And the activity log will log the right game :-)

    One problem could be how to selcet the game to load - maybe through a file on the sd card with path in it,
    changed in "normal" (hack) mode
    some hardware switch would be nice, but that would need a new hw revision.


    What dou you think about this idea?
    Would be nice, but i don't think a flashcard producer/programmer is aroud...
     


  2. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Clean Mode.
    'nuff said.
     
  3. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    if SH there is getting right yea that is what you might be describing as Clean Mode that just runs the game most carts that have RTS and such have both those modes
     
  4. gegl
    OP

    Newcomer gegl Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Austria
    Thanks a lot!!!
    didn't know something existed.

    sry for posting all that - seems someone out there is way smarter than me :-)
     
  5. Shabutie78

    Member Shabutie78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    too bad 90% of my games white screen on clean mode >_>
     
  6. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use clean, unpatched ROMs or it might not work well.
     
  7. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,003
    Country:
    United States
    Too bad 90% of your games are patched/trimmed/bad games. 100% of mine work in clean mode.
     
  8. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Trimming does work with Clean Mode if I recall right.
     
  9. SignZ

    Member SignZ Timelord

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Country:
    Germany
    So, clean mode is just to pretend the ROM is an actual cartridge or what?
    I never used clean mode (never knew what it's even for)...

    €dit: Ok, according to the FAQ, it's just like other flashcards, that don't have that
     
  10. Shabutie78

    Member Shabutie78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    oh, then that's terrible.
    all of my ROMs are clean dumps but i trim them all. i thought everyone does?
    anyway no matter, patched mode has worked 100% for me anyway.
     
  11. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Why is it terrible?
     
  12. Shabutie78

    Member Shabutie78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    oh. i read that wrong. i thought he said it doesn't work.
    nevermind then, now i'm back to wondering why all my dumps don't work in clean mode.

    also:

    too bad they're not. [​IMG]
     
  13. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You might wnat to try to reinstall your DSTWO software.
    It is the only possible solution, as all ROMs are clean.
     
  14. Shabutie78

    Member Shabutie78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    thanks but the problem with that is that it's been like this since EOS 1.06, and i've formatted my micro sd multiple times (not in attempts to fix this issue though - i never cared) and they still all white screen in clean mode.

    but like i said, it's not a big deal. 100% of my roms work perfectly in patched mode anyway.
     
  15. Cuelhu

    Member Cuelhu КУ!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Fantasy Land
    Country:
    most of my ROMs don't work on clean mode as well and they all match with advanscene database.
     
  16. Verack

    Member Verack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    If clean mode is just giving two white/black screens, the problem is most likely your micro SD's read speed. I've tested various SD cards with my DS2, and I figured out that cards with slow read times weren't able to run in clean mode. If you can, try testing a game in clean mode with a micro SD with a faster read time than the one you're currently using.
     
  17. KidIce

    Member KidIce Smart Ass

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    United States
    Clean mode I'm fairly certain will not do what the OP is describing. The SCDS2 still spoofs as Alex Rider and when the 3DS logs what game you played, that is what it will log it as no matter what game you played from your SCDS2 or if you used clean mode or not. Much the same way that the Wii logs your USB Loader/HBC/etc and not the games you played from them. I suspect the same thing will happen if one uses an Action Replay on the 3DS, it will show up as whatever the AR spoofs as on the log, not the game you actually played.

    Clean mode fools the game you ran from the SCDS2 into thinking it is running from a retail cart, yes, but the not the system software on the 3DS, that will only detect and log the cart you booted not the ROMS you ran from it. The OP's point is still valid and worth considering as long as you're willing to have a flash cart that can only carry one game on it at a time and lacks any of the bonus features (cheats, etc) that most flash carts have.

    If I were to loose that though, I'd probably get the retail game instead and forgo the flash cart as multiple games on one cart and those bonus features are 90% of why I use a flash cart.
     
  18. Cuelhu

    Member Cuelhu КУ!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Fantasy Land
    Country:
    it couldn't be the read speed since I have a Transcend 8GB class 6.
     
  19. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My class is just 2, but Clean Mode works fine on it.
     
  20. Verack

    Member Verack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Class is the write speed, not the read speed (although higher class cards tend to be of better quality, thus having faster read speeds). You could always give your card a check with one of the various speed test programs out there. I had a Class 4 Sandisk that was getting slowdowns in games, and clean mode wouldn't work, due to the poor read speed. I later got a Class 2 Sandisk, which then ran everything fine. I did a read speed test, and it turned out the class 4 had a worse read time than the class 2.
     

Share This Page