New M3i Production run

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by OzModChips, Aug 25, 2010.

Aug 25, 2010

New M3i Production run by OzModChips at 1:44 PM (2,254 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    M3i have changed their hardware around
    the flashing cable now sits on the same side as the micro sd card slot

    Our batch, and im guessing some more have issues with flashing. once it flashes, which takes about 30 trys....then says "no system file found"
    even though the sytem file is in there
    this is the new 1.6 fcore file

    we are lucky we tested before we shipped stock. If you have a preorder in with a store, please email them and ask them to test out 1 or 2 from their batch to see if they have the same issue.

    Maybe we where just unlucky, but just a heads up!

    Peace
     
  2. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I will ask what Shoptemp has to say about their batch but I suspect its similar
    the cart was out of stock for a great while...
     
  3. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I thought it might have been an issue with sandisk...but we tried some Kingston as well and it just doesn't seem to flash. Something must be up with their ICs

    I know how messy it can get when you ship stick around every
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    are you sure you have the very latest of everything?
    a while ago everything got updated with support for newer batches.
     
  5. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes
    1.6 fcore

    using 1.45 sakura, a little old, but this is not the issue, as the thing wont even flash

    If someone has a link to the latest sakura (just the files, not the silly installer thing)
     
  6. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,801
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Here you go
    http://gbatemp.net/t89197-the-m3-sakura-faq
     
  7. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i don't know what caused the flashing problems then, but the "no system file found" could very well be from the outdated m3sakura.
     
  8. LenSjuh

    Newcomer LenSjuh Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Do you have this problem with both 2GB and 4GB? A few weeks ago we had some problems with 90% of the new m3i zero(GMP-Z003), together with a Kingston 2GB. The Kingston 4GB or 8GB had no problems. My guess was that this delayed the production, but I guess it is not fixed yet?
     
  9. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    We have problems with

    2, 4, 8, and 16gb Sandisk

    I have 2 kingstons here, 1 4gb, and 1 2gb they have the same issues
    the stock of kingston is about 2 years old, we only stock sandisk

    i will try the new firmware asap, thanks for the link..
     
  10. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    I've had a card from the new batch (with G....something on the top of the label).

    It flashed and worked fine... You have to use the new Fcore and the new firmware, though....
     
  11. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok
    the cards i got to flash worked with 1.48
    the no system file was to do with 1.45

    however the biggest issue is flashing them
    Doesn't want to pickup that the Fcore file is there!
     

Share This Page