1. Chary

    OP Chary Never sleeps
    Chief Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,810
    Country:
    United States
  2. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    Not really. You'll want an i3/A8 at the least.
     
  3. Chary

    OP Chary Never sleeps
    Chief Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,810
    Country:
    United States
    I'd have thought it could run dolphin fairly well... It can run GC games good, right?
     
  4. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Not even close to being good.

    You can get away with PCSX2 on Pentium (not Celeron you have linked) with AVX support. Dolphin wise you going to need much beefy laptop.
     
    PityOnU and Thanatos Telos like this.
  5. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    Nope, Celeron processors are SLOOOW! I'd be amazed if this thing ran Dreamcast emulators at full speed.
     
    Thanatos Telos likes this.
  6. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    Save a hundred and get this.
    Seriously, my A8 just barely keeps it at a playable 30/60 fps for both emus.

    EDIT: Forgot to mention I used AMD Overdrive on the CPU.
     
  7. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    33,449
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Even for $300 that seems like a lot. Indeed I would not have thought I would have been able to get a new laptop with those specs in this day and age (DDR3 and 4 gigs of it aside I think I had laptops ship with Vista that were beefier).

    As for dolphin. Unlike with a newer system I would not expect to sit down and basically have all the gamecube has to offer and have it near flawless (give or take some minor emulator settings tweaks). You could probably get quite a bit done though.
     
  8. PityOnU

    PityOnU GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,163
    Country:
    United States
    You need a seriously high-end i7 to use Dolphin on a laptop.

    Not sure about the other you mentioned.
     
  9. takeshi10123

    takeshi10123 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    My Macbook mid 2010 (OS X v10.8.4) gets between 15 - 45 FPS in-game (Pokemon Colosseum) for Dolphin on a 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo CPU and Nvidia GeForce 320m GPU.
     
  10. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    No you don't. My A8 runs Wind Waker and Sunshine on the low spec at 30fps.
     
  11. PityOnU

    PityOnU GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,163
    Country:
    United States
    Are you talking mobile A8? I don't have those games to test, but with my i7-3520M (2 cores @ 2.90GHz) I get HUGE lag spikes in Tony Hawk's Underground 2, and can't break ~43fps.

    Mind you, those are first party games, which were probably crazy optimized for the hardware. As always, results will vary from title to title.

    Dolphin also does Wii games, don't forget, which are way more processor intensive than GCN games.
     
  12. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but those are the only two games I play on Dolphin.
    And yeah, it foes Wii games too, but I got an actual Wii, so it really doesn't matter for me.
     
  13. The Milkman

    The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Country:
    United States

    This, my 3rd gen i5 barely holds 30 FPS on Wind Waker. Outset and Windfall Island are frame-drop fests.
     
  14. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    That is REALLY odd. My A8 drops to around 25 fps on Outset and Windfall. (Once again, it's set so it stays at its Turbo boost speed)
     
  15. The Milkman

    The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah, it hits around that. Surprising how disorienting it is when you loose 5 FPS from 30.
     
  16. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's like
    60-55 fps= No problem.
    30-25 fps= WTF is this shit?
     
  17. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Uh. Guys.

    GPU, too.
     
  18. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    In emus, the GPU isn't nearly as important.
    To prove it, I hooked up my old C2D with my old HD 7770 for fun and my FX-8320 with my older HD 4650.
    The 8320 creamed it. Also, there was very little of a bottleneck in the first system.
    If you want me to re-enact this with fraps or something, fuck you. Going from 13.8 to 12.6 to WHQL drivers for my GTX 760 was a pain.
    Really, fuck you if you ask.
     
  19. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    When doing realtime 3D hardware-accelerated rendering, the GPU is being used and needs to be baseline.

    This is notably unlike emulation for the SNES and such, older systems.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Laptop,