New Firefox-Shiretoko

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by da_head, Oct 27, 2008.

Oct 27, 2008

New Firefox-Shiretoko by da_head at 7:08 PM (2,814 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada


  2. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Um, I'm using 3.1b1, so it's more recent than yours. [​IMG]
     
  3. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Same, and possibly more stable.

    ( http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-beta.html )

    If you really want the latest versions, you could try the nightlies, which have improved on the Acid3 test from previous ones.

    Also, for more speed turn on:
    javascript.options.jit.content and javascript.options.jit.chrome in about:config
     
  4. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    oo thanks.
     
  5. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    How well the latest nightlies fare with Acid3?
     
  6. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    WTH! the beta installs itself in a different folder than the alpha! so stupid...
     
  7. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    I think the latest nightlies get like 93 or 94 in the Acid3 test compared to 88 or 89 for the beta 1.

    Also, to use existing extensions, make extensions.checkCompatibility true in about:config too (NB: May make a terrorist kidnap your daughter, amongst other things)
     
  8. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting, gonna give it a go now. I'll probably use it over Google Chrome, as problems seem to be getting added all the time instead of fixed. (for example, the GBATemp navigation bar at the top of the page has disappeared, and IGN's videos don't display properly, contrary to it all being fine when Chrome was first released).

    EDIT:
    Oh, and the link that Lee79 has posted appears to be a more up-to-date Beta 2 than the link in the first post.
     
  10. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, but I installed it and skipped the plugin check and some of my plugins fucked up Firefox causing super interface lag, address bar disappearing, Firefox not remembering my settings, no session management, etc etc.

    Back to 3.0.3 it is.
     
  11. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    There's a reason why beta versions are different from **main builds. If you knew, it'd be obvious why it installs in a different directory than normal builds.
     
  12. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    i thought the program would update itself...or at least ask me. i currently have 3 folders. firefox 3, shiretoko, firefox 3 beta 1. but w/e ur rite, i don't no shit about alpha and beta builds lol
     
  13. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, beta builds are always separate from normal builds. Since normal builds are supposedly safe and stable (or relatively more than beta builds) they'll be considered updates. The purpose of beta builds is to allow people to test it out as a separate build, an entirely separate program version if you will, to spot out and fix the kinks and bugs before an actual official update is incorporated into the main build.

    As for alpha builds, those are usually not meant for the public but meant for software testers, usually internal to the company from which it was made. But this is a different topic; I digress.
     
  14. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    I always install my stable builds and betas on the same folder, so they overwrite. Just one FireFox is enough for me.
     
  15. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    So how does this "Shiretoko" compare to the current version of Firefox? (3.0.3 or whatever we're at)
     
  16. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Browser comparisons:
    [​IMG]

    Some guy's results:

    * Firefox 3.0.3 - total 3052.2ms
    * Firefox 3.1 Beta 1 - total 2746.0ms
    * Firefox 3.1 Beta 1 with TraceMonkey - total 1740.2ms
     
  17. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    wat?!! i thought they said minefield was the fastest browser (or is that not included in the test). and wats tracemonkey?

    Posts merged

    i can't find that (using minefield).
     
  18. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ xJonny I am using Firefox Minefield and i can not find extensions.checkCompatibility = enable (true) In about:config also.
    I must say though Minefield is super quick at displaying web pages and Adblock plus works with Beta 2 [​IMG]
     
  19. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All of the latest Minefield nightly builds are the fastest.
     
  20. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    k thanks. and yeah, adp still works [​IMG] (that's rly the only one i care about).

    EDIT: request mod to change thread title to: New Firefox - Minefield
     

Share This Page