1. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    So if any of you recall a while back i posted that my Wii had be stolen.

    WELL! One of my friends has generously decided to help me purchase a new one!! =D Specifically one of the new black ones.

    However is it true that the black wii has a different disc drive and cannot read backups?



    I guess that breaks the GC Backup loader then right seeing as only USB loaders work?


    Thats a shame.......

    GC USB loader anyone? [​IMG]
     
  2. monkat

    monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if it will have a different disc drive...but even if it did, I don't see why it would make a difference? I'm not exactly an expert on the Wii scene, but iirc, all the drive does is send the data from the disc to the rest of the Wii, which is when the Anti-Piracy starts.

    But again, don't quote me on that. [Sigh, I can see people quoting that in this topic just to be cheeky.]

    But, as far as a GC USB loader...I feel like I can confidently say that there will not be one until long after the Wii is out of production - and that does take into account a longer console lifespan.
     
  3. TRushInfo

    TRushInfo Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    yes the new drives wont read backups
    shame on you for telling him he will be fine

    guess that makes me cheeky
     
  4. SenorClean

    SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Any new wii (white or black) will be packing a D3-2 drive, so no DVD-Video reads - and hence no softloaders will work. There aren't any mod chips for them either, but it is possible that they may come.

    Disc checks happen in the DVD-ROM itself, but it is possible to swap it out for an older one if you are desperate.

    If it were me, I'd just stick to USB loading, and forget about gamecube... if you really want to play GCN games, pick up an old cube for $20 or something.
     
  5. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it just a matter of more hacking and cIOS shenanigans?

    Or is the new drive completely untouchable?
     
  6. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,145
    Country:
    Sweden
    You can still run DVDs, with a external dvd-player connected to USB-port. Then use uloader.
     
  7. TRushInfo

    TRushInfo Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    black wiis hack xactly the same, and yes the new drive is not a team player at all
     
  8. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm


    I happen to have an IDE to USB adapter. Would that work if i used that in conjunction with a random DVD drive from a computer somewhere?
     
  9. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,418
    Country:
    Belgium
    Buy a replacement DVD ARE better, buy an older motherboard and replace it, works fine
    Plenty of online stores sell replacement motherboards that do read backups

    The dvd reading capability was removed (hardware, the left out some chipsets) on the new motherboards, but threr identical for the rest to older dvd drives that can read backups
     
  10. Burton

    Burton Real Life VIP and Educator
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    I'm not sure about this but I think that with Uloader u can use an external dvd drive and use to read backups.
     
  11. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,031
    Country:
    Belgium
    That's correct

    But as it goes through USB, GC backups won't work.
     
  12. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada

    I suppose GC backups are the only reason I would need an older drive.

    Thats to bad.

    Maybe i'll just get a white one and paint it black [​IMG]


    or does that void the warranty?
     
  13. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,145
    Country:
    Sweden
    Newer Wiis have the exact same dvd drive. So you are out of luck
     
  14. elmariachi

    elmariachi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I suggest you trade this new wii with the old one of your friend [​IMG]
     
  15. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada

    Wait, even the new white ones?!

    Well that's unfortunate. I guess no GC games till the newest drive gets hacked then right?

    Whats the newest drive called anyway? Just so i can keep track of it.
     
  16. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,031
    Country:
    Belgium
    Which will be never

    So you'll have to wait for a GC USB loader (which may also be never) or buy a WODE.


    edit: it's called D3-2
     
  17. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok then. Thanks for all your help! [​IMG]

    Can't wait to get a new black wii!

    I guess i'll have to stick to Dolphin for gamecube stuff.
     
  18. naughtynazgul

    OP naughtynazgul GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Huh. I just remembered the Gamecube SD loader thing that emukikid made.

    Maybe that will work?
     
  19. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,953
    Country:
    United States
    That will work, though you will need an SD Gecko. You can get one off of DealExtreme for $3. However, I haven't had much luck with it.
     
  20. Dangy

    Dangy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Country:
    United States
    QUOTE FOR CHEEKYNESS.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Black,