New Aussie Wii- No Black Glue

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pitoui, Nov 27, 2008.

Nov 27, 2008

New Aussie Wii- No Black Glue by pitoui at 12:09 AM (2,144 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    So I purchased a new wii today from Target (great deal).

    Come home to chip it with a Wiikey 2 and when I opened it I got a shock. No black epoxy on the drive chip at all. Nice and clean.

    Have Nintendo realised how stupid it was to put eopxy in the Wii or have I just gotten lucky?

    Anyone else had the same experience?

    I've put up my results on Wiidrives so maybe we can pinpoint when Nintendo stopped glueing the damn things.
     
  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So. How long until you get homebrew up and running? [​IMG]
     
  3. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Just gonna bring it all downstairs to chip now.

    You probably know this already.. but you don't need a chip to run homebrew.
     
  4. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You dont say... :wtf:

    *edit*

    I was more thinking along the lines of VC and WiiWare, which yes mostly pales in comparison to the real wii games, but some are brilliant.

    World of Goo is freakin great [​IMG]
     
  5. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah sorta figured you knew that haha.

    Im chipping this for a mate, so gunna install whatever the Wii's memory fits.
     
  6. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
  7. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    hahahaha that is funny , no he is not a pirate , we have no pirates here , but a bunch of angles doing math homework [​IMG]
     
  8. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    You probably just got old stock... epoxy hasn't been around for long.
     
  9. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What FW did it come with?
    Just curious
     
  10. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Firmware 3.3e v1 as I used the old twilight hack to install HBC.

    Nah brand new stock, straight from Nintendo Aus. I saw the mountains of boxes in a crate, it looked like the "Nintendo" truck had just come in.
     

Share This Page