New 3ds bricked?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by kingmex, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. kingmex
    OP

    kingmex Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 25, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Hello, I bought a faulty new 3ds, that when you turn it on, the blue light is shining but without the screen backlight and no sound. And its not automatically turning off. I have to turn it off, when I push the power botton for some seconds. I openend the new 3ds, but I donot see something broken and all the ribbon cables are in the ports. Only the black clip under the two clips (It must be the ports for the Touchscreen and the lower screen) is broken on one side. But the ribbon cable is in the port and it stays there, so I am unsure, whether this is the problem.

    Maybe the new 3ds is bricked, I really donot know whats the problem.

    I am really thankful, if someone can help me.
     
  2. mitroux

    mitroux GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    262
    51
    Sep 12, 2007
    Macau
    did you try to use the recovery buttons combo?(L + R +dpad UP + A) and power on the 3ds?
     
  3. Toiry921

    Toiry921 Maki Best Girl

    Member
    265
    167
    Dec 10, 2015
    United States
    ラブライブ
    Try to load it without the SD card in as well as the recovery Combo L+R+A+Up on the D-Pad
     
  4. sl0ps

    sl0ps Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    97
    196
    Dec 29, 2015
    United States
    I hope you got a NAND backup. Oh, and a soldering iron.
     
  5. kingmex
    OP

    kingmex Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 25, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Yes i tried to get to recovery mode, but it doesnt react.
    And unfortunally I have no nand backup, i bought it yesterday

    Can it be an hardware problem? Or its really bricked.
     
  6. Toiry921

    Toiry921 Maki Best Girl

    Member
    265
    167
    Dec 10, 2015
    United States
    ラブライブ
    Where did you buy it from if you don't mind me asking
     
  7. kingmex
    OP

    kingmex Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 25, 2016
    Gambia, The
    I bought it on ebay, and thought I can repair it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    But I have no idea whats the problem. I
     
  8. Toiry921

    Toiry921 Maki Best Girl

    Member
    265
    167
    Dec 10, 2015
    United States
    ラブライブ
    Sounds like a Hard Brick with no NAND backup, Basically you can just use it as a paperweight
     
  9. kingmex
    OP

    kingmex Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 25, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Is it typically for a hard brick, that there is no sound and no screen backlight?

    And there is no chance, that it could be an problem with hardware?
    The seller said, that the new 3ds fell down and from this moment it doesnt work anymore.
     
    Last edited by kingmex, Feb 26, 2016
  10. Toiry921

    Toiry921 Maki Best Girl

    Member
    265
    167
    Dec 10, 2015
    United States
    ラブライブ
    Could be hardware but I'm not too sure to me it sounds like a brick
     
  11. ih8ih8sn0w

    ih8ih8sn0w Koreaboo

    Member
    1,655
    715
    Aug 22, 2015
    United States
    Hell
    Open it up if the warranty is already voided, a friend of mine bought a 2ds and when he opened it, a chunk of the motherboard was missing (he only paid like $30 and thought he could just fix it)
     
  12. kingmex
    OP

    kingmex Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 25, 2016
    Gambia, The
    I already opened it and the only one side of the port is broken, but i dont think this is really the problem. All other ports are ok.

    The port is left of the circle pad on one side broken. But the ribbon cable stays in.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. kingmex
    OP

    kingmex Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 25, 2016
    Gambia, The
    I found the problem. If i pull out only the cable for the lower screen, its turning on. I have never heard from this error.
    Do someone know, why this happens? I thought, it only will start with a black touchscreen.
     
  14. Cpt. Iglu

    Cpt. Iglu Member

    Newcomer
    11
    0
    Apr 8, 2016
    Gambia, The
    As I am the new owner of the unit that kingmex had previously tried to fix (and didn't tell the buyer on eBay about it),
    I would like to ask a mod to erase the file that kingmex has attached to the thirdlast post (counting this one) because the SN can be seen on it and I don't want everyone to know about it (superstition ;) )
    Thanks!
     
  15. mudassirul

    mudassirul GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    326
    107
    Jan 13, 2010
    My guess is the screen is bust or the port is bust, possibly both and may be creating a short! Check that the pins aren't bent and touching each other
     
  16. migles

    migles Mei the sexiest bae

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    migles is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    6,630
    4,348
    Sep 19, 2013
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    my dad works for nintendo.
    just curious, did he sold you the console without telling you the console was broken?

    btw, you can do this:
    PM a moderator https://gbatemp.net/staff/
    click on report in the message containing the picture and explain your issue in the report box
    you may alternativaly instead of ask to delete the thing altogether, ask to edit the picture to censor the serial in question.
    or ask @kingmex to delete\censor the picture.

    however keep in mind that if robots (internet archive websites like google or internet archive) saved a copy of this page there is not much gbatemp staff can do about it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    always read first 2 (or 5) and last 2 posts before reply
    the user sold the console and this is no longer relevant