1. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Country:
    United States
  2. TokyoMario

    TokyoMario Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
  3. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Country:
    United States
  4. TokyoMario

    TokyoMario Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:

    The squares look like squares. The character may be a tad stretched. Everything else seems legit widescreen.
     
  5. Phillymike

    Phillymike Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Running into an issue I can't find anywhere on any thread...maybe I missed it. I turn on my mini, I get a black screen. I turn it off, C8 error pops up. I attempted to reflash, but when plugged into my laptop running hakchi, the program doesn't detect my mini. It just sits there.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. BrettX1234

    OP BrettX1234 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Guys, Sorry had a super crammed weekend. I have a LOT of updates that I need to post here. I will hopefully get them addressed Tuesday afternoon. Please keep providing feedback as I promise I'm reviewing it all.
     
  7. dandeleon

    dandeleon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I believe a C7 error is when you try to load a game with an incompatible mapper. Fixed my C7 error triggering games by installing retroarch.
     
  8. BrettX1234

    OP BrettX1234 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Completely remove the power. Plug in the system, do not power it on, immediately do a restore/uninstall and confirm that it returns to the original setting. I don't think the system can be recognized while it is displaying the C8 error code. Please report back and I will confirm the answer on the FAQ. Thanks.
     
  9. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Country:
    United States
  10. BrettX1234

    OP BrettX1234 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Are you saying no FDS games are supported? That doesn't sound right if you have RetroArch installed... can you provide more details?
     
  11. BrettX1234

    OP BrettX1234 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    WOW THAT WAS EXHAUSTING. Just did a major 4+ hour update to the FAQ. Cleaned it up and added the excellent feedback so far from everyone on this thread. Awesome job guys! It is 1a here, so I may have missed something. Please let me know if you see it.

    Thanks.
     
  12. HecklerJH

    HecklerJH GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for this. However I thought the 5mb save states were being created when using snes9x2010? Not 2005... Does snes9x2005 also create large save states? @pcm720 If not, that post on the first page of this FAQs, under March 1st, is incorrect...
     
  13. Le_Gogh

    Le_Gogh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Thought I'd post this in here as I didn't get a response in the other thread. Does anyone have any ideas on this at all?

     
  14. HecklerJH

    HecklerJH GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure what to tell ya... Maybe try a different folder organization. Try mixing them up and creating folders with 20 games per folder. Alphebetically
    But kinda sounds like there is an issue with your RetroArch as well.

    That is strange as I have over 350 games with working suspend states for them all(except Mario RPG and Mario Kart 64.) I have 250+ NES(with only a select few of the orig 30) 50+ SNES, 40+ Genesis games, and some Turbo Graffix 16 roms. My home menu is around 35 folders(A-Z with additional collection folders) with 20 or less games per folder. I have the systems mixed and there is a blend of games in each folder.

    Hakchi screen of folders.PNG Hakchi screen of games.PNG

    What version of Hakchi and Retroarch.hmod are you using?
    What cores and .hmods have you installed?
    When you say you can't get save states to work, what exactly is happening? What games?
    When you exit the game, does the floating screen shot appear?
    What types of roms are you using? .bin .gen .smc .sfc .zip?

    There is alot of missing info...
     
    Last edited by HecklerJH, Mar 6, 2017
  15. TokyoMario

    TokyoMario Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:

    Looks like you got the cores switched up. 2010 was causing the 5mb savestates and was changed to 2005.
     
  16. Le_Gogh

    Le_Gogh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Thanks for all of the info. I actually just tried re-downloading fresh copies of hakchi2 and everything else, including a new copy of RetroArch, AND someone else's Kernel dump. I completely uninstalled everything from my NES Mini and flashed the dump I downloaded, and using the new download of hakchi2 etc I re-flashed the custom kernel etc, powered the thing on and left it to sit for half an hour (in case it needed to compile everything once powered up), and now everything works.

    So I think you're right, either my copy of RetroArch was corrupted or perhaps my original kernel dump was. Either way, a complete uninstall, and fresh copies of all mods and someone else's kernel dump have sorted it.

    In answer to your question though, I was getting no floating screenshot when hitting the home button, but that seems to have now resolved itself thankfully, and I can now save just as expected :)

    Thanks for taking to time to respond, really appreciate your help. Hopefully this may help someone else as well. Happy to give more info if you need specifics for the FAQ.
     
  17. HecklerJH

    HecklerJH GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    That's awesome you were able to finally get your save states working. You're welcome. The no floating screen shot was typically caused by have a . or other punctuation in the name of the rom. Or a bad rom, but seems that the retroarch may have been iffy. Glad you are now able to enjoy your NESCE!

    No need for more info. I just like helping out. ;)
     
    Le_Gogh likes this.
  18. 0ceans

    0ceans Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hey guys! Joined this forum to hopefully get some help. I'm running 2.13e but can't seem to get it to work. I can flash my original dump file with no problem, and there's no issues flashing the custom kernel. But then whenever I try to add games (just a half dozen SNES games, maybe 25MB total?) I get the "LED won't turn off" situation. And then it's just a blank screen if I plug it into my TV and try to use it.

    I can flash back to stock no problem, but it's a little frustrating that I can't figure out how to make this work :/
     
  19. HecklerJH

    HecklerJH GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Have you installed RetroArch.hmod and an SNES core? If so, which release? https://github.com/ClusterM/retroarch-clover/releases
     
  20. 0ceans

    0ceans Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    I have not. My process was:

    Download the latest Hakchi2 release.
    Run the file
    Add SNES ROMs in the Hakchi2 app
    Plug in my NES Mini to sync it all up
    Follow the process (hold reset etc, it dumped the original kernel, flashed the new one) ***So far, so good
    It tells me I can now sync the games so I say OK
    It starts transferring them all and upon finishing says it'll be a second before the LED turns off, but it doesn't

    I'm looking at that RetroArch clover GitHub page Heckler, but I'm unsure what to do with it?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Troubleshooting, Hacking, Classic