Need the Tech-perts - wii softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shedseven, May 23, 2010.

May 23, 2010
  1. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    OK I have tried to read around and also tried many options presented in forums but I am now at a loss [​IMG] so I need you guys and gals to help get my wii back on track.

    I have a really ancient Hard Mod (I don't know the make, model or firmware installed). but it was August 2007 when it was flashed so that is pretty old [​IMG]

    I have been regularly updating since then to try and stay ahead of the game but find myself lacking on certain games and 2 of which to date are NSMB Wii and SMG2 (also FFCC but less concerned about that one).

    I have latest NeoGamma but this does not work either. I get (of all things) 001 error which I used to remove using the trusty Trucha Signer and Generic Wii Patcher, however lately, Trucha Signer won't open the ISO (so I switched to WiiScrubber) and then when I extract the .dol I cannot find the 001 nor 002 with Generic Wii Patcher. But obviously they are there (albeit in different form) as my wii tells me so [​IMG]

    I have Pimped My Wii using latest version and I have an extract of the data (again using pimp my wii) and can put the resulting .csv on here if it helps.

    Can someone please help me I don't have many other avenues left and am not too technical?

    Cheers

    Shedseven

    I have 4.1 (E) of the OS - Just spotted the n00b section so if this is relevant then feel free to move this post there [​IMG]
     


  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Install cIOS rev7. You modchip messes up the 001 fix in the cIOSrev 14+. And the 001 fix in rev8-13 is the same that Generic Wii Patcher uses.

    Downside will be that it won't play Dual Layer games.
     
  3. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    Tried that using a loader (one of the avenues I went down) but it did a CORE DUMP and crashed out. [​IMG]

    Sorry forgot to mention that - Any other ways of getting cIOS rev7 without the loader.

    The Waninkoko suggests I need "IOS36-64-v1042.wad" as part of the cIOS rev 7 install. Would this cause any downstream impacts to other isos installed via pimp my wii?

    I have been without DL since it was installed (I found that out with smash bros [​IMG]

    Any other ideas.

    Cheers

    Shedseven

    Love NeoGamma BTW [​IMG]
     
  4. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    OK - I installed Rev7 and this installed fine second time over.

    However Pimp My Wii says it needs upgrading to rev 19 again and I still get the 001 error [​IMG]

    Hmm even NeoGamma warns to get at least to 17 and even then still gets the 001 so I wonder what is next...

    As I posted before I can PM or post the output from Pimp My Wii.

    Cheers

    Shedseven
     
  5. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Post the output from Pimp My Wii.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok, 001 error when using cIOSrev7 is something that completely confuses me. I don't think i can help you.
     
  7. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks gents.

    Here is the Output from the original setup:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Here is the Output since I put Rev 7 on there:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Hope this helps you to help me <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />

    I will use something to compare the 2 and see what I can see then - however in both cases 001 still appears from Disc Channel AND neogamma.

    Cheers

    Shedseven
     
  8. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    I would say take the chip out if its possible. Maybe you can update the chips firmware? Thats probably the best answer. Then get your softmods in order.
     
  9. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Like VashTS said, update or remove the chip if you can.

    If you remove the chip: reinstall cIOS r17, then either use NeoGamma or install DARKCORP.
     
  10. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    If it is an old wiikey did you ever upgrade the firmware to play the original SMG (1.9g)? or SSBB (1.9s) from the disc channel?
    Also are you sure you are on 4.1? Your report shows IOS70 and 4.2 breaks out of region backup disc support from disc channel. It could also simply be a read error (bad burn).
     
  11. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    I wouldn't even know where to start taking the chip out [​IMG]

    My wii Sys Settings say 4.1E so I assume 4.1. For the original SMG I used Trucha and GenericWii to get the image in a good place, however the softmod scene has surpassed this now and these programs no longer have updates for those few of us on older technology [​IMG]

    Looks like I am in trouble then from the feedback from several techie guys.

    Is there anyway I can find out the version and firmware (I suspect not).

    Thanks

    Shedseven
     
  12. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    your SM is 4.1.The firmware is IIRC same with all wii's(correct me if im wrong).What matters is the system menu
     
  13. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    I meant the chip firmware which I assume mine is written in BASIC it's that old - sorry [​IMG]

    Cheers

    Shedseven
     
  14. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to agree with plenty of posters in this thread and tell you to take the chip out. Just open up the Wii and remove the chip that seems to be retrofitted onto the DVD drive.
     
  15. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks guys, I have ordered a deal extreme special to see if I can pull the thing out. Now I do remember the guy said it was in a housing allowing it to be easily removed for reprogramming but if I remove the chip will the housing cause any issues.

    Here's to me screwing up the hardware [​IMG]

    Wish me luck (in 10 days when the screwdriver turns up)

    Shedseven
     
  16. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Good luck! Also tell us what the chip ended up being.
     
  17. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Maybe that means it's on a WiiClip... Those things were pretty nifty and also easy to remove.

    If instead it's directly soldered to the board, don't even try to desolder it if you're not REALLY skilled with a soldering iron and the such.

    You could risk destroying the entire DVD drive mainboard, and I remember seeing a lot of dead boards back in the modchip days! [​IMG]
     
  18. Digital1980

    Member Digital1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
    dealextreme takes forever to ship but their prices are hard to beat.
     
  19. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    Nope, the housing is soldered on but the chip can be lifted in and out (I think).
     
  20. shedseven
    OP

    Newcomer shedseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi Everyone,

    Here's an update, the screwdrivers turned up today so I got a look at the work someone had already done and basically there are 4 wires that lead to the board and then out to a housed unit with a chip in it. This in turn had a wire coming out to another part of the board.

    I removed the chip from the housed unit and reassembled. Result = happiness

    Thanks for the help guys.

    I couldn't tell you what the chip is as you cannot tell but it looks like a small black rectangle with 8 prongs off it (that fit into the housing unit).

    Again thanks for the advice gang (however on reassembly I put a posi in one of the tri-wing holes and cannot get the bugger back out so taking it apart ever again will be nigh on impossible (thank god it works).

    I can take a piccy of the chip if you want.

    Shedseven
     

Share This Page