Need nand dump, preferably with USB Loader working

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by The_Legend, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm sick of trying to get USB Loader working. My last try is to completely replace my nand with another one, to either start from REAL scratch (I've followed every step that made USB Loader work on my friends' Wiis), or to replace my nand for another one with everything working and installed.

    My SysMenu is 4.2U boot1b boot2v4.

    If anyone can upload or give me a link of a working nand.bin, I'd appreciate!
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    ... aren't NANDS system-specific? :|
     
  3. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    We didn't share NAND backups because it's illegal.

    Also i think it's not a good idea to try another NAND because we have no bad block handling.
    It's possible you brick your wii if a NAND error is anywhere in the sysmenu or the IOS.



    But if you think it's ok then take the NAND backup from your friends. [​IMG]




    Yes, but with betwiin you can convert any backup if you have the keys.
     
  4. fattest

    Member fattest GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
  5. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
  6. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    2 problems with getting my friends nand backup:

    - They live in another city, quite far from me;
    - Their Wiis are LU64+, so their boot2 version are different from mine (I guess).

    But I didn't know that sharing nand backups were illegal. That's bad, I'm lost again...
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    I could give you about a hundred reasons and explanations for how to and why you should not do what you want to do. The best thing for you is to just use modmii to get what you want and tell it that your wii is a virgin.
     
  8. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    I think that if what I'm trying to do doesn't go the way I intend to, I can always restore my Wii with my original nand backup, am I wrong?
     
  9. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    No matter what, yes. But, if you don't have bootmii installed to boot2 but only as an IOS and you end up with a full brick then you need an infectus to reflash it or contact someone to do the flashing for you.

    Honestly, trust modmii. NO ONE has ever bricked because of ModMii. It is 1000x safer than trying to convert a nand dump to your wii, especially when you dont have the skills of understanding what is going on and how to hex edit.

    Seriously, just use modmii. If your wii happens to brick because of modmii then I will fix it for you for free (You still pay shipping, you have 2 days to claim on this). I know for a fact that you will not get a brick from using modmii. And if you do then I can reverse and figure out what YOU did wrong and what mistake you made that caused the wii to brick.

    Basically, in the end, ModMii is sooooooooo noob friendly that you would have to have an IQ < 50 for you to make a mistake and your wii get bricked. And if that is the case that you would brick using modmii, then you sure as hell don't have a chance with an infectus or using betwiin.
     
  10. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm not worried about bricking my Wii at all, because bootmii IS installed in boot2. I would not be dump enough to try and do something like this if I didn't have bootmii in boot2.

    But anyway, I'm trying ModMii now, anyway. Just finished getting my Wii back to "like a virgin", let's see how it goes.
     
  11. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just used ModMii method, and was not surprised it still doesn't work.
     
  12. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Saying that "it didn't work" does not give us the slightest idea as to what the problem. Explain quite a bit more about where things didn't work right and then we can help.
     
  13. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    I explained it detailed on other topic, but I'll do it again, with more details:

    I used the ModMii program to "update" the Wii to 4.2U (it was already on 4.2, I was just trying to make it "like a virgin"). Then I unistalled every IOS that was 200+.

    Used ModMii again, this time to mod the Wii. Along with the files it had downloaded before, there was some cIOS, as expected. I installed the cIOS 236 (to be able to install the wads), and then installed all the wads ModMii had downloaded, including the cIOSs ones. From that point, I should be able to run USB Loader.

    But I got to the same point as before. When I plug my external hdd on the Wii BEFORE running USB Loader, it flashes the led a few times, then it stays on. If I run USB Loader and ask to find a USB device, it starts to count to 30, but does not find a thing. If I unplug the hdd and try plugging again, while the count down is still going, the led blinks twice and turns off, and the count down goes on until it reaches 30 and the Wii is restarted.

    And now that I followed the ModMii "guide", I cannot run files from MPlayer-CE anymore. Before, I was able to run apps from my FAT32 usb drive from HBC and play files from my NTFS hdd (it would only be recognized if I plugged the hdd before running MPlayer-CE). Now I can still run apps from usb (although apps would not recognize the usb drive to load wads from, for example), but MPlayer-CE doesn't recognize my hdd (or thumb drive) anymore.

    For now, I'm able to play games from SDHC, but that's quite limited (8 gb), I would like to be able to run from usb, but I'm really lost here. I was almost convinced I had an out-of-order usb port, but being able to run apps and playing videos from it leaves me really lost.
     
  14. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    here is my version of the question.
     
  15. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    I tried a 500 GB Toshiba external hard drive (USB powered), a 1 TB (AC powered) and 3 differents thumb drives. None work.

    I'm quite sure the problem is not with the USB drives. From my experience on other Wiis, they have worked with every usb drive I tried, be it an external hdd, be it a thumb drive.
     
  16. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe the wrong usb slot? Try the other one. If it doesn't work I would say the usb slot is broken.
     
  17. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    That was the first thing I tried, lol. Both slots give me the same results.

    I was thinking that my USB port(s) were broken too, but HBC works with USB, and MPlayer-CE worked too (not sure why it is not working now, maybe I need to do some IOS36 patching, I don't know).
     
  18. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Could you please post your syscheck?
     
  19. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Swapping your NAND with a different console's NAND will most likely kill it. Getting your USB loader will be much quicker and probably a breeze.

    1. Get your hands on DopMii. Make sure your Wii is connected to the internet before continuing.
    2. Uninstall IOS'es on slots 249, 250, 222, 223. The slots have to be free.
    3. Check if you have a Trucha-Enabled IOS installed. It needs NAND Write premissions too. DopMii can install one automatically, if that fails, use a different Trucha-Enabler.
    4. Install cIOSX and HERMES cIOS with their appropriate installers. Start with rev.16 of cIOSX and HERMES v.4, they seem to be most compatible on Wii's I tried. You can upgrade later on.
    5. Install USB 2.0-supporting IOS 58.
    6. Upgrade your Homebrew Channel.
    5. Try again with USB Loader GX, reply here if it works.
     
  20. The_Legend
    OP

    Newcomer The_Legend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Brazil
    OK, gona try these steps. I'm just not sure how I would do the 3rd step. I installed the IOS 236, is that it? If not, could you give me more details on how I could do that step?
     

Share This Page