Need help with Windows 7

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by da_head, Jan 12, 2009.

Jan 12, 2009

Need help with Windows 7 by da_head at 3:43 PM (1,070 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah so i just installed it after partitioning my harddrive, but i can't even access my primary harddrive. so does that mean i have to install all my programs from scratch and bring over all my files?
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Disk Management

    Assign a letter to the Vista partition.

    Note:
    The reason the Vista drive is not assigned a letter is to protected it from anything failures that Windows 7 would have as Windows 7 is still in BETA.
     
  3. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    already tried that. the vista partition is assigned a letter C, and it doesn't let me change it otherwise
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Okay now I'm confused here. Does Vista show up as a hard drive (C:\) in Win 7? Or does it not show up at all?

    Unless you installed Windows 7 from within Vista, Windows 7 should be the default C. What's drive letter is Windows 7?
     
  5. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    vista doesn't show up at all.

    when i'm on vista: VISTA - C
    WINDOWS 7 - F

    when i'm on windows 7: WINDOWS 7 - C
    (and vista isn't there)
     
  6. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Then do the step I told you to do. Assign it a letter that isn't C. It won't change how the letter is viewed in Vista, only in Windows 7. Do the step while in Windows 7, not in Vista.
     
  7. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    told u, that i can't:

    Windows cannot modify the drive letter of your volume. This may happen if your volume is a system or boot volume, or has page files.


    i also tried changing it while on windows 7 and i got the same error message :S
     
  8. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I just did it in my Windows 7, so I know it works.

    Take a screenshot of the Computer Management window and post it.
     
  9. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    k give me a few mins.
     
  10. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    ah ok it worked lmao. i was trying to change C while i was on windows 7 *facepalm*

    hmm. it doesn't seem like i can run my programs though...it says missing dll? does that mean i have to reinstall all the programs on windows 7?

    edit: i double posted so jiggah could see the bump
     
  11. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    It depends on the type of program. The programs that come with an installer needs to be installed through the installer. Other programs like most emulator that you simply extract, you can download the dll and just put it in the same folder as the program.
     
  12. DrYHeLL

    Member DrYHeLL GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Also steam and games work fine [​IMG]

    Any way to make it invisible to 7 again by chance? I dont wanna loose my main OS
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    I'm really not sure. Once you activate it, Windows 7 recognizes it as a system drive and prevents any tampering with it.
     

Share This Page