need help with pokemon black

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by lemonzap, Dec 23, 2010.

Dec 23, 2010

need help with pokemon black by lemonzap at 9:13 AM (1,564 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    ok, so I have an r4i sdhc deluxe (I know its a clone). it works and I have been trying to get pokemon black with the english patch to work on it. I did a lot of research and got some info. I now have ysmenu.nds on it but whenever I try to load something it says UNKNOWN_DLDI_TYPE. this is about as far as i've gotten, I need help. either tell me an easy way to get pokemon black working, or how to fix the error message in ysmenu. Thank you, and hurry please, I need this working by the 24th of december.
     
  2. rave420

    Member rave420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada
    stupid question, but can you run other games without a problem?
    Chances are, that your card has a problem with the rom.

    You will need the childsplay patch for B/W, and after that, apply the latest translation patch. i use the v1.4 and it plays on my card. i can save, i can load, i can battle, i gain xp, but sometimes it randomly corrupts the save.

    my point here is, trying to get it to work is going to take a prayer and then some.

    There are sooooo many different versions out there (exp gain patch, prepatched untranslated roms, translated unpatched roms etc).

    i also send you a pm for a suggestion about something else you may try.
     
  3. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I actually assumed it was the fact that it was pokemon black with the anti piracy thing, and I hadn't checked to see if anything ran on there. nothing does, at least out of the things i tried. I tried mario kart, pokemon black, and pokemon diamond. the only thing that happened is when mario kart started it made a rev sound and mario said "here we go". otherwise all that happened was a blank white screen. any suggestions on what i might be able to do?

    *edit
    I just tried updating the firmware from 1.27 to 1.30 and still nothing changed. My problem now is the white screen, after I have other games working if pokemon black still doesnt work then ill keep looking in to it. I'm still in a hurry, I need pokemon black working by tomorrow pacific time.
     
  4. KevFan

    Member KevFan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Ireland
  5. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    by "with updated .dat files" do you mean I have to update them, or the zip you posted has the updated .dat files in it?
     
  6. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,601
    Country:
    United States

    This is why your thread is not going to be closed like the 400 Pokemon B/W threads that came before it.


    Good luck.
     
  7. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I did research before i posted, I couldnt find anything that worked for me in any other threads that I looked at.
     
  8. KevFan

    Member KevFan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Ireland
    it has the updated .dat files in them. Just extract and copy the TTMenu folder and ysmenu.nds from the R4_CLONE folder onto your micro sd and see if that works
     
  9. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    when i tried that the background of ysmenu changed and it stopped saying unknown dldi type but instead said UNSUPPORTED DLDI NAME.
     
  10. KevFan

    Member KevFan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Ireland
  11. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    ok, so im trying to use the patch but it came out as a .bak file, how do i convert it to .nds
     
  12. KevFan

    Member KevFan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Ireland
    the .bak is the backup of the rom in case you need it.
    and the .nds file is patched once you drag it into Patch.exe
    so copy the .nds file to your micro sd when its patched and load it using your original firmware since ysmenu doesn't work
     
  13. rave420

    Member rave420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada
    one last shot, you got nothing to loose.
    Put AKAIO 1.8.1 on your card. I couldn't get shit to work on my r4 clone untill i put akaio on there, and now EVERYTHING works 100%. Maybe it will solve your problems too.

    also, the DLDI thing.... What is giving you the error message? Is it ysmenu? Havc you tried DLDI patching it using the corresponding DLDI?

    please, do give the AKAIO software a shot. It runs on a lot of cards i heard, and i was supprised it ran flawlessly on my r4clone
     
  14. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    neither thing worked, when i start anything off of the original firmware it goes to a white screen. when i start anything from ysmenu it says a message about unknown or unsupported dldi
     
  15. rave420

    Member rave420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada
    well, you are not supposed to launch the AKAIO firmware using another firmware.
    What i meant is give the AKAIO a shot as your main firmware. i.e format the card, and place the akaio files in the root of your flashcard. If the firmware starts (boots into the AKAIO when you select the AK in the DS menu) then you should be able to launch any rom you want to, without having to use any other menu or launchers.

    format card
    place the AKAIO firmware in there (the __aio folder and the *.nds go in the root)
    see if it starts, if it does, just try launching your rom using the AKAIO firmware.
    seriously, screw ySmenu, it may work good on the original R4, but you own a clone. No wonder you can't get stuff to run without a problem. Again, i may suggest trying AKAIO as your firmware of choice.

    godspeed.
    i am only advocating this way because this was the only way i could get anything to run.
     
  16. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    im sorry if i was confusing, but thats what i did. It wouldnt load AKAIO. I did format and replace the firmware. also this card has worked before, I just lost the micro sd card for it. and this time around im having alot of trouble getting it working. pokemon black is mainly what i want to use it for but I should probably get other games working on it before I can accurately troubleshoot pokemon black. for now I need to solve the problem that whenever I start something it goes to a white screen.
     
  17. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know what time it is for you guys but i still have a little time and i still need help getting any games to work on my r4 clone. I have already done a lot of searching and so far have not been able to find anything that works, and I know my card works because it has before. I just lost my micro sd card with all of my firmware. please help! Thank you

    *edit
    i tried a fourth game(advance wars dual strike and this time it went to the white screen then went to a black screen. it still didnt work:(

    *edit2
    i tried a 5th game(contra 4) only one that has worked so far
     
  18. lemonzap
    OP

    Newcomer lemonzap Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Suddenly every game started working [​IMG] except for pokemon black [​IMG] it may be the 24th but its better late than never so please help me figure this out. Thank you
     

Share This Page