Need help with part bricked Wii (has BootMii boot2)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Deviyl, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I just got my friends Wii.. it has BootMii as boot2 at the moment. The BootMii is the outdated v0.9.

    He was trying to update his SM to 4.0 using the safe updater. Updated IOS60, then to 4.0u. In the process, HBC was updated.

    Now when I boot the Wii, I just get a black screen. I can launch BootMii, but when trying to launch either SM or HBC, I get the same black screen.

    Since it's the older BootMii, it's trying to launch HAXX and not JODI. Which is why HBC won't load.. and I'm pretty sure the IOS60 got messed up somewhere along the way.

    What I need to figure out at the moment is what to do with this thing. I can only get to the BootMii home screen.

    It looks like I need a way to update BootMii to launch the new JODI HBC.. or if anyone else has any better suggestions?

    I have done very little in the way of unbricking Wiis, so I'm a bit stumped. Any help would be wonderful.

    Thanks!
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    use cboot2 to boot wad manager and install a good IOS60
     
  3. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    What? I said I wasn't well versed in the unbricking process-- so I have pretty much no idea what those ten words mean.

    I searched for cboot2, but I don't want to just start throwing shit at it without having any idea what I'm doing.

    A brief explanation of what to do would be awesome.
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you copy the bootmii folder off your sd card an replace it with the cboot2 files and put the good IOS60 in the wad folder on your sd card put it into the wii and turn on and it'll boot into wad manager then you can install the good copy of IOS60 and then its done power down and remove the sd card you can turn the wii on and it should boot if you have replaced the stubb IOS60 then you remove the cboot2 files from your sd card and copy your bootmii folder back and bootmi will work as normal
     
  5. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    That didn't work..

    cboot2 got me back into the SM, but would never load the wad manager.. which is fine. I got out another sd card and updated bootmii with the new hackmii installer.. so now BootMii from boot2 lets me get into HBC fine. Installing a good IOS60 doesn't work, I get a 1035 error. So I'm looking for ATD now to get rid of what looks like a stub and then put the good one back in.

    I'll see how it goes and update in a minute. Thanks for the help thus far.
     
  6. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    try dop ios mod v8
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    waninkoko's updater gave you a stub IOS60

    your'e very lucky he had boot2 Deviyl!
    come on, i wouldnt expect this from you!

    run ATD to delete you stub IOS60
    then install a good IOS60 v6174

    i suggest you update via my update.zip or the safe 4.2 updater
     
  8. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    I'm good at hacking them. Which means I don't have to fix many bricks. =P I know how to fix a few, but this one had me stuck for a while. I know how to fix it now.. Just need to find the tools.

    I've been looking for ATD for a good while now.. I've tried about 4 of them so far and they all have some stupid brick protection that doesn't allow you to delete IOS60.

    Looking for an older version now, but dunno how much luck I'm gonna have.
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    can you not just use dop ios to install the non stubb IOS60
     
  10. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    Tried with dop-ios, but i don't have internet on the wii. When i put the files on it from the sd card i got an error -1017

    More specifically:
    ES_AddOnContentStart(0000000010000003c, 0) failed: -1017
    Install returned -1
    Installation Complete!
    ERROR: Something failed. (ret: -1)
    Press any key to continue



    Looking into it now..
     
  11. MarioMadness

    Member MarioMadness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    On A Higher Consciousness
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    pack a wad of IOS60 stub from NUS and uninstall it with wadmanager, then pack a .wad of a non stub version and install that

    problem solved
     
  12. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    Packed a wad with default naming convention of ios60 v6400
    Tried to uninstall..
    Error: ret -1017 across the board.



    I also just tried installing SM3.2 cuz I figured then ATD would let me delete IOS60, but no go. I get the same -1035 error.
     
  13. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    -1017 means you have no trucha

    -1035 means you cant downgrade

    get trucha back into your system
    erase IOS60 v6400
    install v6174
    and install SM 4.1

    but i would stay on 4.2
     
  14. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ATD brick protection wont let you delete SM ios, sooooo get 4.2 SM wad and install ios 70 then delete stubbed ios60 then install a gooden

    job done no?
     
  15. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    trucha bug is there.. i just did it again just to make sure. Still getting error -1017 when I try to uninstall ios60v6400 via wad manager.

    if it were as easy as just erasing ios60 and installing a new one, i'd be done already. Nothing I do will remove the stubbed version of ios60 though. This is where I'm having trouble.

    If I install SM 4.2 and IOS70 then try to downgrade to 4.1, i'll get the same -1035 error as before..
     
  16. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no you wont if you install the latest ios60 if that dont work then install the uninstall ios60 from cioscorp cuz im pretty sure the version no is maxed out, even so when your on 4.2 the ios60 is stubbed for a reason,

    its not needed!!!
     
  17. Deviyl
    OP

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for all the help guys. Still couldn't find a way to get rid of ios60.. so i just upgraded to 4.2. Working fine now. Thanks again for all the help. =)
     

Share This Page