Need help with my Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Butox, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. Butox
    OP

    Butox Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2010
    Brazil
    Hello, a few days ago I bought a used Wii from the internet. The former owner told me he used to play games from original dvds and had no hack or anything. I went to the wii system menu screen and the firmware version is "4.3U wan.". In the main menu screen there is no Homebrew channel only disk, mii, photo, wii shop, forecast and news channel. I tried to use letterbomb to install the homebrew channel, but when it starts an error shows up:

    "The installer can NOT continue!
    There is no vulnerable IOS installed on this Wii..."

    I dont know exactly what to do, some places say I can brick my Wii if i try the wrong hack. Does anybody know which options I have to fix my Wii?
     
  2. brausm08

    brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    721
    17
    Nov 15, 2009
    United States
    USA - Midwest
    use modmii (link in my sig).

    'Hackmii Solutions' ('H' on main menu) should get you on you way...
     
  3. Butox
    OP

    Butox Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2010
    Brazil
    Thanks for your answer brausm08.
    I downloaded Modmii as you told me and I used the 'H' option, but now I am stuck at the Multi-Mod Manager screen.
    I went to the Messageboard and opened the envelope with the bomb, when the multi-mod manager shows up I cant navigate through the options and my control shuts down.
    With a quick search i discovered that this manager do not work with wii remote. I am not sure if I am right, everything I found on the internet is a little outdated.
    Do I need a game cube control or is there another way to use my wii remotes?
     
  4. Walker D

    Walker D I have a hat

    Member
    1,334
    490
    Nov 15, 2009
    Brazil
    My home
    No ..wiimotes work.
    Are you using a wiimote with motionplus inside or with one attached, or with a nunshock attached? Cause you should use a normal wiimote

    You could also use POWER, RESET, EJECT as UP, ENTER, DOWN button, if I recall correctly... not so sure though
     
  5. Butox
    OP

    Butox Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2010
    Brazil
    Ok, I did everything again, to make sure I didnt missed anything, but I couldnt go past the MMM screen again.
    My wiimotes have nothing written on the front bottom, I suppose they are just normal wiimotes. Just to make sure, inside, where the batteries go, there is a sticker with:
    wiimote1: RVL(M)-1, RVL-003
    wiimote2: RVL(H)-2, RVL-003
    I tried using the buttons POWER, RESET and EJECT, but power and reset just turned off my Wii and eject just make a noise.
     
  6. brausm08

    brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    721
    17
    Nov 15, 2009
    United States
    USA - Midwest
    MMM doesn't work with the newer remotes...

    you can try a different wad manager to use in MMM's place... but IIRC, it has to be a boot.elf (not boot.dol) version.

    i'll do some hunting; if i find somthing i'll post a link (if anyone else has this on hand, feel free to jump in here).

    EDIT: try this: https://sites.google.com/site/completesg/how-to-use/wad-manager

    1.download and unpack the YAWMM_EN.zip from the link above
    2.rename the boot.elf (MMM) file in the root of you SD card
    3.copy the boot.elf (YAWMM) you extracted in step 1 to the root of your SD card.
    4.follow the modmii guide (it'll be a bit different since you're using a different wad manager, but the goal is the same: install the clean IOS.wad files)
    5.???
    6.profit.
     
  7. Butox
    OP

    Butox Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2010
    Brazil
    Thank you very much!
    I will try it right now and I will reply you soon.
     
  8. Butox
    OP

    Butox Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2010
    Brazil
    OK, I am not sure I am doing it right.
    I started YAWMM and I could use my wiimote, followed the YAWMM guide, chose IOS249 for "IOS to use" and for the "NAND emulation" I left it disabled.
    I opened the WAD folder and selected all IOS that were in there:
    IOS31-64-v3608
    IOS33-64-v3608
    IOS34-64-v3608
    IOS35-64-v3608
    IOS36-64-v3608
    IOS58-64-v6176
    All files were installed correctly but, when I went back to wii system menu, nothing changed.
     
  9. brausm08

    brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    721
    17
    Nov 15, 2009
    United States
    USA - Midwest
    if the wads installed correctly, you did it right. nothing is supposed to change on your wii menu. with what you did, you can now go back to your original goal of installing the HBC and modding your wii.

    EDIT: just delete everything on your SD card...go back into modmii, select 'W' from the main menu...answer all the questions...follow guide...???...profit.
     
  10. Butox
    OP

    Butox Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2010
    Brazil
    OMG! I used letterbomb again and it worked!!!!!
    Thank you so much!