need help with my acekard

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Hickeyl, Jun 5, 2010.

Jun 5, 2010

need help with my acekard by Hickeyl at 3:06 PM (1,725 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i had no clue what to download or what to get so i found a firmware and downloaded what apperently was the updates i need to play ds roms on the card.

    but my dsi was already at 1.4e
    so i found out that i need a ds lite or a dsi already updated to install the updates on my card...

    i had a spare ds lite and attempted to install it... it got all the way to the end and said either reboot or incert another card so i turned it off an back on and now neither my dsi or ds lite can even read the card .....
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You've bricked your cart.

    I have a guide in the Acekard forum that SPECIFCALLY told you to use the DSi file.

    You'll have to get another cart and use that to unbrick it. It doesn't have to be an a Acekard, you can use any flashcart to launch the update.

    http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...up-your-acekard

    If you don't have another cart, you'll have to get a cheap R4 from places such as ShopTemp etc. You will be able to use that to unbrick your Acekard.
     
  3. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so my friend has a r4

    what exacally do i need to do to make my acekard work again

    iv only just found out what i have to do -.-
    thanks for the reply keep em coming
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly what you need to do is in that thread i've already given you the link to.

    Step 11. Updating the Acekard 2i's firmware.
    This step is optional and only needs to performed if you want to use your Acekard 2i with a DSi which has firmware version 1.4. Even if you intend to use your AK2i with a DS Lite, it is still a good idea to perform the firmware update incase your DS Lite breaks and you later replace it with a DSi or DSi XL.

    After updating, your Acekard will appear in the DSi menu as [​IMG]. When used with on the DS Phat/ DS Lite, it will still appear as [​IMG] in the DS menu. If you already see the [​IMG]Danny Phantom icon in your DSi's menu, there is no need to perform the update.

    Download the firmware update from Here[​IMG] and extract the contents to the root directory of your MicroSD card. You should have two files [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSi_new.nds and [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSL_new.nds

    [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSi_new.nds is used to update a single cart, and can be used on the DS Lite, DS Phat and DSi FW =< 1.3. In most cases this is the file you should use because there's less chance of anything going wrong.

    [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSL_new.nds is used to update multiple carts and also unbrick an Acekard previously bricked by either update. It's primarly used by retailers or people who are going sell on their Acekard's. It allows you to update multiple Acekards in quick sucession without having to swap memory cards or reboot the NDS between flashings. This file only runs on the DS Lite or DS Phat because the DSi will not allow you to eject a cartridge beyond the DSi menu.

    [​IMG]Make sure your DS is fully charged or running from mains before attempting to update the firmware. Interrupting the process flashing may cause your AK2i to become bricked.

    Once the progress indicator goes past 0%, do NOT interrupt the flashing process.[/p]

    Updating a Single cart:

    Boot your Acekard and run [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSi_new.nds
    • Use [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSi_new.nds even if you are performing the update using a DS Lite or DS Phat. The DSL/ DSP will run both updates, while the DSi will only run the DSi update.
    It will take you straight to the firmware update screen

    [​IMG]

    Press (start), after the update is complete it will give you the following message:

    [​IMG]

    The update is complete, you can now power off the console.

    To update multiple carts or to unbrick a previously bricked cart.

    Boot your Acekard and run [​IMG]ak2ifw_update_14_DSL_new.nds. This can also be run on any working cart, doesn't have to be an Acekard because it's not going to update the cart you launch it on. You are just using it to get the update into the DS's memory so you can eject the cart.

    After you've run it, you will get the following prompt:

    [​IMG]

    Eject your cart and insert the cart you wish to update or unbrick. Press (B) and you get:

    [​IMG]

    Press (start). Once the update is complete you will get the following message:

    [​IMG]

    Important: If this was the only cart you wanted to update, power off now! [​IMG]Do NOT press (start).

    If you have another cart to flash, eject the cart and insert another. Press (start) and it will start flashing immediately, it will give no warnings, prompts or ask for confirmation. Repeat the process for as many carts as you have.
     
  5. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nice one just needed to know where to read form [​IMG] il get back in touch when iv attempted it
     
  6. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1 question so i understand the prosess
    is the update installed to my SD card? even formatting wont remove it?

    or is it save and installed to my acekard
     
  7. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It's installed straight to the Acekard itself.
     
  8. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Theres a chip inside the acekard, that is the thing that gets updated
     
  9. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok ok so im going to use my friends r4 to update

    im going to use a DS lite

    so wich update do i use so that my dsi can see the acekard on screen?
    dsi or dsl update

    im so feckin confused

    Posts merged

    so how will installing the update on the r4 workon my acekard?
     
  10. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think iget it now......
    where it says remove card an put it back in do i put my acekard in insted on the r4 again [​IMG]? have i got it
     
  11. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    The update with DSL in the name does not update the cart it's run off of. You run the file on the R4, take out the R4, insert the Acekard, then continue.
     
  12. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you swap the r4 and the acekard during the process
     
  13. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    listen guys youv been a fukin great help seriously love this forum

    so i have to run the dsi update yea?
     
  14. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    You bricked your cart. Therefore you must run the DSL update on the R4, then swap the R4 and the Acekard before pressing continue in the update program.
     
  15. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks man got it [​IMG]
     
  16. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my very first card was an r4 so i knew everything there was to know about it

    today i got my acekard and il be honest its like a fukin alien i duno wtf to do ^__^ im gettin the hang of it [​IMG] made up with this threads replying

    see yas later :~) peace!
     
  17. Twilight Loz

    Member Twilight Loz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United States
    this thread is a sticky topic on the acekard forum for a reason
     
  18. Hickeyl
    OP

    Member Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    UnderNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    now iv got it working i turned it off an then back on not stright away for a different reason...
    not it loads everything then stays black...?
     
  19. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Back up everything on your microsd, reformat it and put a fresh copy of akaio on there. (1.7 is the latest) Then just put everything back on and it should be fine.
     
  20. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    - You can delete the two .txt files (they look like text documents, and your computer system may not be configured to show the .txt file extension once they're extracted).

    Since you seem to have fixed the cartridge's internal firmware, the only thing left to do is to add your ROMs/Homebrews/SAVs back to the MicroSD. If you still experience problems after this is done please describe them.

    Remember to always use the "Safely Remove Hardware" option before you remove your MicroSD from your computer's reader/adapter. (Assuming you're using a Windows XP or later PC.)
     

Share This Page