Hacking Need help with installing games

Floor321

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
25
Country
Netherlands
Hi!

This week I bought an unpatched nintendo switch for my own birthday, yay!
I also bought a RCM loader (xkit) and a new sd card (samsung Evo Plus 512gb)

I exfatted my card and installed some games. Only to fail after a couple of games. I read that exfat is very instable so i formatted my card to fat32.
I used tinfoil and nut (and the usb drivers) and used my USB. But again after a couple (2-3) games it fails to load. It asks to connect to the internet and after that it mentiones that it's damaged. That while i've played one of them on my earlier try so i'm sure the download should be fine.
Oh i also found the sig patched, but yet nada. I could play the first couple of games, but while pretending to install new games: it did nothing.

So I formatted my file again to give myself a clean slate. Perhaps I did something wrong. I read online that a lot of people have troubles with tinfoil so this time I chose Awoo and the NS USBloader. This time i downloaded the sigpatches right away. The first 3 games, again, worked like a charm. But also again, after those: it pretends to install but it doesn't work. It's the same as earlier.
It does install the files i put on the micro sd card, but a lot of games I want to install are bigger than the max you can put on a fat32.

I don't see my Switch connected to my computer, i tried to install all kinds of USB drivers but it doesn't work.
I tried tinfoil again but it gives the same problem, it does uninstall the defected files though.

I don't know if its worth mentioning but I will in case it's important:
- Goldleaf doesnt seem to run
- I deleted my internet account and haven't been online or in the eshop with it. Only downloaded the latest firmware and deleted it.
- after formatting my sd card, tinfoil still existed on my home page and could still be used. The tinfoil i find in my Album doesn't work.
- I didn't download a game from the eshop, could this be the problem? And can i still download it safely? (I see guides mentioning I should do this)
- I gave Reinx a quick try but it didn't seem to load, it was very quick though, so perhaps i made a mistake (i downloaded the files, put it on the sd card and I renewed the payload.bin on my rcm loader)

I am thinking about SXOS but i am afraid of paying for something and still having all these troubles.

I really hope someone can give me an answer here because it's driving me nuts!
Since english isn't my first language I hope it's all understandable ^^.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions made!

Floor
 

BaamAlex

S̶̥͝l̷̹̀͗e̶̼̖̩̅͊e̷̛̦͉̦p̷̘͌͝i̵͇̠̞̿̌n̷̰͚͌̓͝g̷̦̲̍̆͝
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
4,184
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
3,461
Country
Germany
So...yeah. Tinfoil doesn't work with atmosphere/kosmos. And don't start the apps from the album.
 

sudeki300

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
834
Trophies
0
XP
766
Country
So...yeah. Tinfoil doesn't work with atmosphere/kosmos. And don't start the apps from the album.
tinfoil does work with atmosphere, or do you mean atmosphere +kosmos, also all my apps are run through album without issue apart fron tinfoil.
 

sudeki300

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
834
Trophies
0
XP
766
Country
Vanilla Atmosphere yes, but not bundled with Kosmos, known problem with Blawar and Kosmos when Kosmos was active.
thats why i wasn't sure by the way it was written with a / between th two, thanks for clarifying though Hayato213:)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

A friend of mine has vanilla atmosphere...same error message like kosmos ;)
what error message is it thats showing?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hayato213

Floor321

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
25
Country
Netherlands
Thank you all for the effort to reply and think along with me.

so you can only install 2 or 3 games then the rest dont install?

Yes not by USB, I can install from de micro SD card itself though.

sounds like they have a fake sdcard
I am willing to buy another sd card. I have no knowledge about sd cards but isn't it strange if its fake that i can install from de sd card itself?

And don't start the apps from the album.

How else can i start them? I saw them in the map Album and nowhere else, or is this why you need to download one game from the eshop and then the R button?

Sorry for being a noob at this and thanks for helping :-)
 

sudeki300

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
834
Trophies
0
XP
766
Country
Thank you all for the effort to reply and think along with me.



Yes not by USB, I can install from de micro SD card itself though.


I am willing to buy another sd card. I have no knowledge about sd cards but isn't it strange if its fake that i can install from de sd card itself?
oh if thats the case then your card seems fine, you can splt NSP files to get around the 4gb limit on fat32, also you can install homebrew as an nsp so it shows on main screen. see below link.


https://gbatemp.net/threads/somes-usefull-homebrew-on-nsp.520775/
 
Last edited by sudeki300,

Floor321

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
25
Country
Netherlands
Thanks everyone.

I did finally check the sd card and it seemed to be corrupted.
i fixed it, but it still held the same problem.

I messaged the seller of the card, and he told me someone else had the same problem.
today i got a Kingston card, and cross my fingers: so far, so good

Yeah!
 
Last edited by Floor321,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: I wouldn't want it for 5