♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀
OP
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Portugal
Basically what the title says.
Currently I'm in my third semester of Japanese at university, and for practice (and fun), I wanted to try translating some of the script from a Detective Conan game that I bought a few weeks ago (Meitantei Conan - Giwaku no Gouka Ressha).

After searching a bit online, I downloaded two programs Tile Layer Pro and Wind Hex, but I'm kinda lost in how to use them.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Not sure what I can do short of teaching you basic ROM hacking.

Games typically display text in one of two ways

1) Graphics. Common mostly in puzzle games and other games with very small amounts of text.
2) A text engine. Long form text like RPGs being where you find this, though you can find this on anything that only has text enough to say "press start" at the title screen.

For graphics you have to figure out where they are stored, also any compression (not so common in GB/GBC but not absent), and copy them. Sadly it will not be in a form you can type into unless you OCR it (nobody really does this) or manually transcribe it (a decent way to make sure you know your kana and learn a few kanji while you are at it).

Text...