Need a good USB capture card

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Tonitonichopchop, Aug 18, 2011.

Aug 18, 2011
  1. Tonitonichopchop
    OP

    Member Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    Since I'm going to be moving soon, I won't have as many tvs since the new house won't accommodate to the current number we have. Because of that, I want to get a capture card that I can use for the video game consoles I own. Here's what I would like:

    Must be able to accept NTSC/PAL signal
    Possibly be able to use component cable. Not a big deal if it can't, but the quality boost would be nice.
    Must be compatible with Windows 7
    Must plug in through USB 2.0
    Must be less than $50

    That's the only criteria I have. I'm not expecting HD quality or anything, just good enough so that my games are playable. Thanks.
     


  2. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    You're most likely going to want a Dazzle.
     
  3. jargus

    Member jargus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    United States
    You'd want a Dazzle or DiamondVC. You won't get anything good for component for less than 100$
     
  4. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
  5. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easycap records in 480i and thats the only one I would recommend for your budget range.
    Dazzle and all the rest are overpriced really.. still records in 480i.
     
  6. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    Wrong! EasyCap and Dazzle record at 480i NOT 480p
    If you use the S-Video cable with the EasyCap or Dazzle u'll get a lil bit better quality but wont compare to 480p
    Trust me I had an EasyCap I know what I'm talking about.

    And as far I know Roxio only capture up to 480p

    EDIT

    Proof
     
  7. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    edit:
    Ahh, you can play but not record in 1080i -.-
    Whats the point then, might aswell go for Ezcap.
     
  8. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I said EzCap not EasyCap they are not the same. What I use is EzCap Pro 148.
     
  9. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have EZcap 116. But yeah EZcap and Easycap isnt the same. Too many clones to keep track of the product anyway.
     
  10. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    Here EzCap 148 Pro

    Can't find it for US
     
  11. Tonitonichopchop
    OP

    Member Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    I'm convinced. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  12. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    Np dude always trying to help. Btw I want to buy a HD PVR now so my EzCap 148 Pro wont have any use. Send me a PM.
     
  13. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    Ah sorry, to kinda hijack the thread. I have around the same question, I am also looking for a USB card, I currently don't have a TV (Studying abroad) so I would like to get a USB capture card.
    Criteria
    Windows 7 compatible
    It doesn't need to be HD or anything( I only have a 13 inch screen , sure won't notice the difference)
    USB 2.0or if possible 3.0, if it somehow matters
    Budget is up to 150 bucks

    I used to have a Easy cap or EZcap (forget which) 118 i think? the black one? Thanks
     
  14. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    Read my posts
     
  15. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    So those more expensive capture card like say Dazzle bring nothing at all? I did think I should get one of those EZcap again, would it have display and input lag? like noticeable ones?
     
  16. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
  17. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Don't use a capture card for general gaming. They are made for recording game play from the TV to the computer. I would never suggest using it for your normal game playing via the computer.
     
  18. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    Well as the above guys said the Capture Cards werent made for play in the PC just to record thats why you want to use splitters. So you can play in ur TV without lag and record at the same time. Cuz if you play and record on ur PC u'll have a bad display, input lag and end with a really bad video.
     
  19. Tonitonichopchop
    OP

    Member Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    So what exactly is the best option not to have lag? If I'm not recording, will it still lag, or not?
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It'll still lag over USB IIRC, and it's more of a latency issue. It'll take a second or so for a movement on your controller to register on the screen,

    The best thing to do is go internal, not USB.
     

Share This Page