1. mr. fancypants

    mr. fancypants that´s ´Sir´ for you!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so the encryption is doublechecked by an encrypted wifi connection??
     
  2. charlie22911

    charlie22911 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    It's likely that all traffic is passed over a secure connection similar to SSL\TLS, it may even be SSL\TLS. I'm pretty new to the 3DS scene so I'm still catching up, I've personally not captured 3DS traffic as I'm sure such a trivial option has been explored by more capable people already; I may have a try when I get back from overseas and have more time however.
    I believe that successful hacking with this handheld generation will only happen through hardware attacks, but that's not to say we can't do neat things using other methods.
     
    Rydian likes this.
  3. elMagnate

    elMagnate Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Netherlands Antilles
    Wow guys, I'm so interested in this. It looks a good enough solution for having both retail games with (or without) online capabilities on newer firmware, and pirated ones on the Gateway in 4.5.

    I have version 4.5, thank God.
    Other than that, a good tutorial with detailed high res images would be excellent. I won't risk my 3DS Xl if I'm not following a guide thoroughly.

    Aside from wires, soldering iron, a solder (i have a cheap one, and won't be buying a $100 soldering station for this, I'd rather buy a 2nd 3DS) and Multimeter (which also I don't have, but shouldn't be too expensive, do I need something more? Well apart from the Micro SD to SD adapter and SD reader.

    I have very basic soldering skills (I soldered succesfuly a PAL Mega Drive to work at 60Hz, which seemed more simple than this), but I can practice in an old external DVD drive to get better skills. I just hope that my cheap solder is enough, or if it's not, a not very expansive one can make the work (€10-20?)
     
  4. vini9157

    vini9157 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Brazil

    i used an 40w cheap solder to my 3ds, so i think u are ok with yours, also the xl procedure is very easy, the dots is very big
     
  5. elMagnate

    elMagnate Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Netherlands Antilles
    How does the end result looks on the 3DS XL. Do you have the case broken somewhere, or taped hanging cables?
     
  6. vini9157

    vini9157 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Brazil

    looks like u want, most ppl made a hole in the bottom of the case and put a female molex in there.

    just like Gonzo on post #74: http://gbatemp.net/threads/nand-flash-dump-3ds-xl.350668/page-4#post-4733960

    In this way u can hide the mod very easily, and also can reconect again with no trouble.
     
  7. elMagnate

    elMagnate Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Netherlands Antilles
    Can you do that on an XL? That pic looks like a regular 3DS.
     
  8. vini9157

    vini9157 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Brazil

    man the xl also have the battery cover, and much more space to make the bottom hole

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    charlie22911 and filfat like this.
  9. charlie22911

    charlie22911 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    For the OG 3DS I highly recommend 30AWG kynar wire for your CLK source, the space between the screen and motherboard is very tight and anything larger will stress the screen. Of course you won't have to worry about this if you dont plan to add a permanent connector as I have done to my two. The XL is *much* easier to work with.

    I don't have any fancy equipment or any special skills, just a $5 15w iron with alloy rosin core solder and my eyeballs!

    [​IMG]
     
  10. PercentSevenC

    PercentSevenC Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    What I want to know is if it would be possible (in theory) to use a ROM and Gateway-style firmware spoofing to "update" the DS to a different region. For example, say you have an American 3DS on 4.4U and want to play Japanese games. You would find a Jap ROM with 4.5J, run it using firmware spoofing, and let it install the 4.5J update. Now your American 3DS is running 4.5J. If you took a NAND dump beforehand you could then swap back and forth between regions.

    Feasible? Or would the 4.5J update fail for some reason?
     
  11. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,942
    Country:
    United States
    There'd be no way to run the 4.5J update. As the firmware spoofer, and region free features of the GW3DS are in the same update. The 3DS won't prompt you for an update.
     
  12. PercentSevenC

    PercentSevenC Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Right, I realize it wouldn't be possible with the Gateway in its current implementation. But in theory, could one, using the same exploit, have the 3DS report a firmware of a lower version, allowing the update prompt to occur? E.g. have it report 4.4J instead of 4.4U. Or am I completely misunderstanding things?
     
  13. redkeyboard

    redkeyboard GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Country:
    United States
    I don't believe that's how Gateway works. I think it just disables the checks the 3DS does to make sure it has the firmware version or the check it does for the region.
     
  14. Coto

    Coto -
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,712
    Country:
    Chile
    but writing to nand like that:

    1. a power off or write error would render your NAND dead, the only * possible* way to bring it back would be to reflash NAND and pray the SD microcontroller pages crc are valid so you would rewrite last good firmware: bad idea

    2. to move to a different region, you need to re encrypt a proper signature for firmwares. Or find a correct way to load decrypted data in a chain payload
     
  15. PercentSevenC

    PercentSevenC Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, that makes sense.

    I guess I misunderstood how the firmware encryption is set up, then. Sorry, I'm still new to this stuff.
     
  16. Arnold0

    Arnold0 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    France
    Just saying, the error
    BOOTROM 8046
    ERRCODE 00F800FE
    00000000 00000000
    00000400 00000000
    Is not when you have a problem, because I have this on mine and dumping seams to be working fine.
    (I'm too noob, when I did it, I broke a connector on the mobo, luckily it's the connector which is used to takes photos but yea...)
    Some pictures :
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Hope someday a 6.2 dump will be usefull...
     
  17. Arnold0

    Arnold0 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    France
    It seams the code means nothing...
    In gueux french forum someone has 00000002 and it worked.
    I had 00000400 and I could read (but not write)
    I had 00000008 with other PC and card reader. Could read and write.
    I updated the card reader driver on my PC and it goes from 00000400 to 00000200. I can read, I will try to write after I have at least 2 copy of the dump done with this code with the same MD5.
     
  18. elMagnate

    elMagnate Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Netherlands Antilles
    I'd like to know if E-Shop games will work this way? I mean, with a 4.5 without the e-shop games version and "the last firmware" with those games? I'd like to play Mighty switch force (2).

    I think it may be possible to do it if I nand dump the last firmware with the games aswell, right? If I do a regular update with interenet or with a card it may not work, but if I flash the nand of the version where I bought the game, I think it can workt that way.

    It's a bit more hassle, but if it works is alright
     
  19. Arnold0

    Arnold0 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    France
    I belive, if you dump 4.5, update and buy the game, dump 6.2, downgrade to 4.5 it will work but I don't think the game will show in 4.5 and will have to flash 6.2 to see and play it. Maybe I'm totaly wrong so the best to do is just to try. If you have 3DS XL it seams easy to do. If you have 3DS, do it with caution (Otherwise you may do as I do and broke the camera connector...)
     
  20. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,367
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    this sounds right, there must be something going on in the memory of the 3ds, not just the sd card. buying the game and going to a dump where the game was not bought, well, i guess the game will not be 'activated'.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - flash,