N64 Emu?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by chaychay2477, Jan 10, 2013.

Jan 10, 2013

N64 Emu? by chaychay2477 at 4:43 AM (4,495 Views / 1 Likes) 44 replies

  1. chaychay2477
    OP

    Newcomer chaychay2477 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello I was just wondering if an N64 emu was possible with the dstwo.
    Thanks!
     
    MADKATZ99 likes this.


  2. Anacobra

    Member Anacobra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Cold. ;_;
    Country:
    Canada
    Delete this post and run before someone rages at you. ]:

    Also not that I'm aware, to answer your question.
     
    jowan and Snailface like this.
  3. Deltaechoe

    Member Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    United States
  4. ct_bolt

    Member ct_bolt Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    United States
    soooo not to add fuel to the fire but... why is it totally not possible? I believe the same was thought of the psp and then BAM! outta no where Daedalus came along...
    what stipulations make this impossible? not enough ram or what?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The PSP is much more powerful than the DS.

    It doesn't matter if a flash cart runs on the DSi or 3DS, they only have access to the power of the original 2004-model DS.

    The iEvo is an exception, but it's only double the DS's power (which is still crappy), and it hasn't been updated in ages (and didn't work in DSi-mode on the 3DS anyways).
     
    ct_bolt likes this.
  6. ct_bolt

    Member ct_bolt Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    United States
    That is precisely what I thought. B-) Thank you for confirming my speculation. ^_^:)

    Edit: So would it be possible if a new flash-cart came out then with it's own ram/cpu?
     
  7. Deltaechoe

    Member Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    United States
  8. JaronMatthewHigg

    Newcomer JaronMatthewHigg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with rydian
    The DS isn't as powerful as the PSP. I have even seen a GameCube emulator on the PSP, so it is WAY more powerful than the DS.
     
  9. Eerpow

    Member Eerpow *swoosh*

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    Pfffffbwaahahahahaa! :rofl2: Can't be bothered to tell you how wrong you are. But no there isn't one, it's impossible actually, a device can't emulate a system waaaay more powerful than itself.

    Sorry if my post is offensive it's just... ;D
     
    BortzANATOR and DinohScene like this.
  10. JaronMatthewHigg

    Newcomer JaronMatthewHigg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    My bad... I meant to say that it was just modded into a psp... but it really wasn't that funny, just sayin'...
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Once the 3DS homebrew scene kicks off, there's a strong possibility.

    The DS has a very good GBA emulator, and the SNES emulators are limited by the dev's ability, not the DS hardware.
     
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    The DS isn't that powerful for perfect Snes emulation, not a limitation on the devs' part. The 3DS on the other hand...
     
  13. chavosaur

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, I think we can expect a SOMEWHAT good emulator on 3DS in the future, but only if we get a really good developer. And even then, i dont think itll be anywhere near perfect.
    Lord knows people are gonna be asking when/if it comes out "CAN U MAK IT 3D? Y NO 3D N64 GAEMS ON 3DS?!"
    Ugh..
     
  14. thealeks

    Newcomer thealeks Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    nintendo DS - 67mhz ARM9 and 33mhz ARM7, 4mb RAM
    snes - 16bit 65c816 Ricoh 5A22 3.58mhz, 128kb RAM (additional RAM on carts)

    Sounds plenty powerful to me
     
  15. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    More MHz =/= more power

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MHz_myth
    http://www.osnews.com/story/3997
    http://www.esm.psu.edu/Faculty/Gray/graphics/movies/mhz_myth_320f.mov


    Emulation doesn't work that way, never has, never will. MHz is only part of the puzzle, you still have to convert Ricoh 5A22 ASM architecture into ARM9/ARM7 code in order for the DS ARM processor to understand the Snes 65c816 ASM code. Just because a system is 50-100 times more in MHz than a console doesn't mean it will run full speed. I really wish people would actually take the time to understand how emulation is to be achieved. A DS does not run native 5A22 code, the DS ARM7/9 CPUs mus be "tricked" into thinking it's a 5A22 CPU. That's where coding and reverse-engineering comes into play, if you don't know anything about how it works, don't make such assumptions. More MHz doesn't mean a damn thing if you don't take into account all aspects of hardware and how it's coded in order to trick one thing into thinking it's something else.

    Optimizations must be made, the Sony SPC700, Nintendo S-SMP, 65c816 Ricoh 5A22, PPU, bus, etc all must run in a synchronized state. Not to mention speed hacks, frame skipping, etc must be implemented if games are to run at a decent speed. As a computer science major, I think I know a thing or two about emulation and how it is to be done on inferior hardware. The DSTWO flash card has its own CPU in it, but still doesn't achieve full speed in special chip games, yet it is getting better.

    ARM vs Assembly = apples to oranges.

    By your logic, the DS should be able load Sega Saturn and Playstation ISO images.
     
    BortzANATOR and Eerpow like this.
  16. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    The DS can't load Saturn and PS1 games because it doesn't have enough RAM.

    What I meant was that each SNES emulator on the DS has its advantages and disadvantages, and they aren't contradictory.
     
  17. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,361
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I know that, I was proving a point to thealeks and his all-too-flawed logic about MHz and emulation. I'm not that dense.
     
  18. ct_bolt

    Member ct_bolt Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    United States
    While on the topic of N64 and 3DS... is Nintendo themselves able to release Digital Downloads of N64 games? Personally I think that would be a strong possibility in the future... just wanted to see what everyone else thought.
     
  19. jaydeekay

    Newcomer jaydeekay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure they could. Trouble is, it would definitely make an impact on their ability to sell stuff like OoT 3D or Starfox 64 3D. Not many people would pay full retail price for those games knowing they could have the same game sans 3D & slightly upgraded character models for $10.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    They could always just not release those. I mean it's not like they release entire libraries in the first place. Even after a few years they've got like, what, 30-50% of the games for any given system up as VC?

    A lot of it is because of rights issues though.
     
    ct_bolt likes this.

Share This Page