Gaming [n00b question] how does Steam work?

• Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 1,305
  • Replies 12
D

Deleted User

OP
I got a new laptop the other day and really want to pick up Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm Legacy. But AFAIK it's only available on Steam. And I've never used Steam before.

Can you play games purchased from Steam offline?

Can you access Steam in mainland China?

If I reformat my laptop can I re-download shit I've purchased from Steam?

Is there anything else I should know before getting started?

Deleted member 194275

Edson Arantes do Nascimento
Trophies
XP
Let's see if I help...

1- You can play your installed games when you are offline, this is the rule for single player games. There are some exceptions for some specifics game titles, so a good research before you buy is a good advice.

2- Even that I'm not 100% sure, I do believe that steam is accessible in China. At least I can tell that Steam do accept Yuans.

3- As long as you do not loose your credentials (user name and password), you can format your laptop ad many times as you want, you will keep your games.

4- Things to know before you go: With Steam you should take the same safety measures that you wold take for any online store. Take care of you password, your credit card, etc, that's my main recommendation.

D

Deleted User

OP
Something I should have asked about in the first post but didn't cross my mind when I wrote it is when does Steam generally put their shit on sale? I'm not buying a $80 game now when it might go down to $40 on sale.

AkikoKumagara

The Coolest Bear Around
Trophies
Website
thebearsden.web.fc2.com
XP
Country
United States
Something I should have asked about in the first post but didn't cross my mind when I wrote it is when does Steam generally put their shit on sale? I'm not buying a $80 game now when it might go down to $40 on sale.