My Wii is acting up

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fazermint, Jan 8, 2013.

Jan 8, 2013

My Wii is acting up by Fazermint at 6:02 PM (882 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Hey guys.

    After coming home from christmas vacation, my Wii is acting up on me. Here are the facts:
    - The Wiimotes will not connect when using homebrew apps (like Snes9x GX, Homebrew Channel, etc.)
    - The Wiimotes DO work when playing real game discs.
    - Gamecube controllers DO work when using homebrew apps.
    - CFG USB Loader hangs at the loading screen.
    - I can load SNES games from USB.
    - I can load games from the SD card (WiiWare/VC)
    - A couple of times, I got the message "The system files are corrupt." Restarting the Wii solves it, but it's still alarming.

    I've got no clue why my Wii's acting up on me. A possibility is that my brother performed a system update even though I explicitly told him not to (he's got no technical insight), resulting in a semi-brick. Another possibility is that there's something up with my USB drive. That would be odd, though, as I CAN load SNES games from it.

    Any ideas? Oh and here's a Syscheck:
    Code:
    sysCheck GX v1.0.0 by Erik Spyder
     
    sysCheck GX is running under IOS58 (rev 6176).
     
    Console ID: 109212876.
    Region: PAL.
    Hollywood v0x11.
    Boot2 v4.
    System Menu v514 (4.3E).
    BC v6.
    MIOS v10.
     
     
    Found 184 titles.
    Found 38 IOS and 12 IOS Stubs on this console.
     
    Priiloader is installed.
     
     
    IOS  4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS  9 (rev  1034)
    IOS 10 (rev  768): Stub
    IOS 11 (rev  256): Stub
    IOS 12 (rev  526)
    IOS 13 (rev  1032)
    IOS 14 (rev  1032)
    IOS 15 (rev  1032)
    IOS 16 (rev  512): Stub
    IOS 17 (rev  1032)
    IOS 20 (rev  256): Stub
    IOS 21 (rev  1039)
    IOS 22 (rev  1294)
    IOS 28 (rev  1807)
    IOS 30 (rev  2816): Stub
    IOS 31 (rev  3608)
    IOS 33 (rev  3608)
    IOS 34 (rev  3608)
    IOS 35 (rev  3608)
    IOS 36 (rev  3608)
    IOS 37 (rev  5663)
    IOS 38 (rev  4124)
    IOS 40 (rev  3072): Stub
    IOS 41 (rev  3607)
    IOS 43 (rev  3607)
    IOS 45 (rev  3607)
    IOS 46 (rev  3607)
    IOS 48 (rev  4124)
    IOS 50 (rev  5120): Stub
    IOS 51 (rev  4864): Stub
    IOS 52 (rev  5888): Stub
    IOS 53 (rev  5663)
    IOS 55 (rev  5663)
    IOS 56 (rev  5662)
    IOS 57 (rev  5919)
    IOS 58 (rev  6176): USB 2.0
    IOS 60 (rev  6400): Stub
    IOS 61 (rev  5662)
    IOS 70 (rev  6912): Stub
    IOS 80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev    4): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev    4): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, USB 2.0
    IOS224 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access
    IOS247 (rev 21006): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access
    IOS248 (rev 21006): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access
    IOS250 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, ES_Identify, NAND Access
    IOS254 (rev 65281)
     
    Report generated on 2013-01-08.
    
     
  2. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Portugal
    Probably because maybe an important IOS got stubbed, I'll check for a healthy syscheck.
     
  3. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Portugal
    here's one:

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS12 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS13 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS14 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS15 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS21 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS22 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS28 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS31 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS33 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS34 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS35 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS36 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS38 (rev 3867): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS41 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS43 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS45 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS46 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS50 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS53 (rev 5149): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS56 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS57 (rev 5661): Trucha Bug
    IOS58 (rev 6176): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS60 (rev 6174): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS80 (rev 6944): No Patches
    IOS202 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249 (rev 20): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
     
  4. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks for the swift reply :D

    So let's see. These IOS'es are stubbed that shouldn't be according to the healthy one
    11 - 20 - 30 - 40 - 50 - 52 - 60 - 70

    I'm not sure what the Trucha Bug is, but I'm lacking it in many places. So what do I do, install fresh IOS'es?
     
  5. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Your system check looks fine (but it's possible one of the IOSes are corrupted I guess) , can you go to the wii settings --> Data management

    Click on Channels (Check if it freezes, go back one screen)
    Click on Save Data
    Click on Nintendo Gamecube (Check if it freezes, Check for any weird looking saves, go back one screen)
    Click on Wii (Check if it freezes, Check for any weird looking saves)

    The other thing you can do is re-install IOS 58, 80, system menu 514 (4.3e), priiloader (as that will get removed) to see if that fixes anything.

    ---

    Jesus... Don't look at Yepi's system menu check, you don't need everything trucha bugged. Also, Fazermint, It's ok for those IOSes to be stubbed.

    The best thing you can do is make a backup copy of your nand, and run it through nandbinchecker
     
  6. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Without doing anything, the Wiimotes work again with the apps. The remaining problem is the CFG loader.

    I reinstalled CFG, and it worked. It didn't see the Gamecube games, so I updated it. Ended up with the same problem again. I'll try reformatting the USB drive, solved things once before :P

    Edit: Current version of CFG: 70r15. Wii games work normally, but it doesn't see the GC games.
    When I update to 70r50 it won't load any more.
     
    Zetta_x likes this.
  7. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is, homebrew apps have never synced wiiremotes for me. So if the console didn't already have them paired before going into homebrew stuff, then it just plain sucked. Everytime you got the "The system files are corrupt..." screen, it will unpair your wii remotes so the next time you go straight into homebrew... good luck.

    Do you have a gamecube memory card or gecko plugged in?
     
  8. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Huh, well it used to always work for me. It's possible my bro switched our Wiimotes, his were glitchy and they might have been mixed up. Anyway it works again.

    Got a GC memcard plugged in
     
    Zetta_x likes this.
  9. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Unplug the memory card :) Then try loading it
     
  10. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Made no difference. I got the gamecube games to work with v70r15, but I'll try reformatting the USB drive to see if it'll work with the latest revision. Thanks for the help bro, I'll report back once I've reformatted
     
  11. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Oh ok, I used to run into this problem a lot when I had a USB gecko plugged into the memory card slot. The first thing it tried doing was communicating with Gecko and it just hangs. Since USB gecko utilized the gamecube port, I figured the same problem would happen if a gamecube memory card is plugged in. I would try running it without the USB device plugged in, it will at least get to the part where it tries to mount a USB device.
     
  12. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Turns out the USB drive was the problem. Formatted it and everything works again :)
     
    Zetta_x likes this.

Share This Page