My N3ds "bricked" during safehax

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Mewdark, May 20, 2017.

?

Am I screwed?

  1. Yeah

    4 vote(s)
    36.4%
  2. A little

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No

    3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  4. 100%

    4 vote(s)
    36.4%
  1. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    I was going through the last step on safehax when it completed quite fast, and finished with a reboot and nothing. When I try to start it, it wont turn on just the blue light. Please some much needed help would be appreciated.
    Quotes in title 'cause I dont know if it is a brick or softbrick, semi, etc
     
  2. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,904
    866
    Sep 18, 2014
    United States
    eject your sd card and see if it boots that way
     
  3. xJoelituh

    xJoelituh GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    145
    91
    Mar 11, 2016
    Which guide did you use?
     
    nitroBW and Stephano like this.
  4. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    Already tried that one

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I was using 3ds.guide with N3ds XL 11.0.3-36U
     
  5. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi

    Member
    1,165
    649
    Sep 6, 2013
    United States
    Bullet Hell
    Why the poll? Pretty sure you've not given us enough information to pick one of four definitive answers for you... and even if you did, how would a poll help anyone?
     
  6. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,904
    866
    Sep 18, 2014
    United States
    If you bricked, you are screwed unless you made a nand back up.
     
  7. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    It may have been that. When was the NAND back up supposed to be created?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    To make things a little bit better and make it more intutive
     
  8. nitroBW

    nitroBW warum nicht?

    Member
    754
    682
    Nov 1, 2016
    Germany
    donut piss wasteland
    Can you boot into Recovery mode? (A+R+L+Up(DPad))
     
  9. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    No I cannot. The weird thing is it shouldnt work without the sd, but should with it
     
  10. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,673
    20,396
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    Do you have the boot.firm in the root of your SD card?
     
    nitroBW likes this.
  11. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    The boot.firm is in CIAS folder
     
  12. xJoelituh

    xJoelituh GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    145
    91
    Mar 11, 2016
    Sometimes It happened this kinda thing to me and it was because the SD wasn't reading correctly, try resinserting it or clean it a bit.
    And you didn't notice any error?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Then there is the issue.. It needs to be in the root of the SD card
     
    nitroBW likes this.
  13. nitroBW

    nitroBW warum nicht?

    Member
    754
    682
    Nov 1, 2016
    Germany
    donut piss wasteland
    It's supposed to be in the root of your SD card~

    ninjaaa'd :ninja:
     
    xJoelituh likes this.
  14. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    Okay Booted into LUMA3ds. Im really sorry about that one dunno how it ended up there obviously my stupidity of course

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Just to be sure and not mess things up again what should I do with LUMA now?
     
    nitroBW likes this.
  15. xJoelituh

    xJoelituh GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    145
    91
    Mar 11, 2016
    Read the guide step by step and don't mess up easy stuff :P
     
  16. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,673
    20,396
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    Move the boot.firm to the root of your SD card.
     
  17. Mewdark
    OP

    Mewdark Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 24, 2015
    Uruguay
    Yeah will do. Thanks a ton. Y supongo que hablas español tambien.
     
  18. xJoelituh

    xJoelituh GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    145
    91
    Mar 11, 2016
    Yea, I do, but this is an English forum, so please, don't speak in other languages
     
    Mewdark likes this.
  19. yacepi15

    yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    888
    178
    Aug 15, 2015
    If you have a DS cart plugged in, take it off. Sometimes, there's a bug that causes that.
     
  20. thund3rstruck

    thund3rstruck Member

    Newcomer
    22
    3
    Dec 31, 2005
    United States
    You are 100% screwed. Hey I'lol buy it from you for $50 ;)