My games freeze when I play them

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Chrissstopher, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008
  1. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my DSTT today with a 2GB Sandisk MicroSD card. I loaded a few games onto it just to find that Only Tetris DS works properly. Whenever I play another game, it always freezes on me.

    Is this due to memory? Or is there something else wrong?
     


  2. Aleatz

    Newcomer Aleatz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Hehe Moo

    Member Hehe Moo Moo?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    *sigh* Relax. You don't need to go on YouTube for that. Just copy all your games, files, etc. onto another folder on your desktop. Reformat your microSD card [ just right click and click "Format.." then tick the "quick format" box and press ok ]. Then copy and paste the stuff on your desktop back onto it, and presto. It should work. The stupid TT does this all the time to me. Does anyone have a 100% conclusion as to why it does this?
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Are your games in a "games" folder rather than on the root of your microSD card?

    Is there plenty of space on your microSD card for save files?

    Do you use the "safely remove hardware" utility before removing your microSD card from your PC?

    -Bri
     
  5. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    happened to me too,I just brought it to the store i got it from and they fixed it...I wish I read this b4 I went...
     
  6. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Hehe Moo and Bri, I've done those things and made sure that everything is right. I have a "Games" folder, I click safely remove hardware, and I've formatted my card before. Yet for some reason I still can't get it to stop freezing. I've managed to get Prof. Layton to work with little to no freezing, but games like FFIV continue to freeze. Could it be because I've only got 2gb worth of space? Could I just buy a 4gb or 8gb SanDisk MicroSD and end up getting all these problems fixed?

    Also, I reformatted my card to FAT32. Good y/n?
     
  7. cepheus

    Member cepheus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Ottawa - THE CAPITALLLLLL!!!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    I read from Bri's past posts that a 2gb card would be best formatted to fat16.

    In terms of card space, just leave 1 gb free and you should be fine.
     
  8. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    FAT16 is best for smaller microSD cards. You should probably use the Panasonic formatter rather than the built-in Windows format.

    I have a 2GB card myself, and can tell you that it works just fine. You don't have to leave anywhere near 1GB free, but you do need some free space for save files. I can fit about 30 games on mine (it depends on the size of the games).

    You may have a bad card reader, a bad microSD card, or even a bad DSTT. If you have access to a different card reader or microSD card, try them and see if it makes any difference.

    -Bri
     
  9. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Holy crap 30 games? I only have Still Alive, Tetris DS, FFIV, Prof. Layton and the Curious Village, and N+. N+, Tetris, and Still Alive work fine. Prof. Layton freezes occasionally, and I can almost never get FFIV to work for more than 5 minutes without it freezing.

    I'll reformat it to FAT16 though and see if I can't get it to work for me.
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Use the Panasonic formatter. Some have claimed that when they used the Panasonic formatter rather than the one built into Windows it solved their problems. I think I may have formatted my microSD card once since I've had it.

    -Bri
     
  11. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Can't say I'm having the same luck as those people. I downloaded the Panasonic formatter and it did nothing. FFIV continues to freeze.
     
  12. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have another microSD card or another microSD card reader that you could try to eliminate those as possible problems?

    -Bri
     
  13. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Not at the moment. I just got this yesterday as a present and I have yet to eliminate the possibility of it being the reader and/or MicroSD. I'm gonna try and pick one up tomorrow though. Which one should I get?
     
  14. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Almost any reader will do. There's a nifty Kingston one that a lot of people like: http://www.meritline.com/kingston-mobillite-card-reader.html

    As far as a 2GB microSD card, 2GB Japanese Kingston is good. If you're going with a larger microSDHC card, make sure it's a class 6. A lot of people like this A-Data one here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820211196

    Keep in mind that it's possible that you have a faulty DSTT, in which case you'll need to return it to wherever it was bought. By the way, have you confirmed that it's a real DSTT and not a fake? Check here: http://www.ndstt.com/en/anti_fake.html

    If it's a fake, you'll want to return it for a real one regardless, because future firmware updates may destroy it.

    -Bri
     
  15. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    The DSTT I've got came in a box, but from the diagrams shown the actual DSTT itself looks real.
    I'm going to buy that card reader and the Kingston 4gb Class 6 MicroSD tomorrow(hopefully) and try it again. If it ends up failing me yet again, I'm guessing it's a fake.

    I'll keep at it and try to make it work, but if not I'll just have to go with something else. A friend of mine has a cousin that can get me an R4 for cheap, though I heard that there are some speculations around those having tons of fakes too. :/
     
  16. cepheus

    Member cepheus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Ottawa - THE CAPITALLLLLL!!!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    yep the majority of new R4 cards out there are fake.

    If nothing works, try using an older firmware or something like the YSmenu.

    I keep hearing about frozen games and I am using a DSTT as well so I am getting worried now. Report back on how things go with yours.
     
  17. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    If it's not just me, it could be the firmware, though that's just wishful thinking. I will report back as soon as possible though.
     
  18. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    There are real DSTT's that come in a box too. So if it looks like the real pictures, it's probably real. Still, it could be a faulty DSTT. If all else fails, return it for a new one.

    Or if you want a better flash cart, get an Acekard 2. It's around $13 from dealextreme.com and is better than the DSTT.

    -Bri
     
  19. Chrissstopher
    OP

    Newcomer Chrissstopher Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    If I can't get the DSTT to work for me, a friend is willing to buy me the Acekard 2. I'm guessing that after that, all should be good. Thanks a lot for your help Bri. You've cleared up a lot for me.
     
  20. Dwight

    Member Dwight Gawb. Gawb Bluth.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Washington State
    Country:
    United States
    Aww I love you too Chris
     

Share This Page