my flashing cable might be defect...

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by ShinyLatios, Jun 20, 2010.

Jun 20, 2010
  1. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm trying to update my m3izero, but so far nothing has helped. what should I do to flash it?(sending it back is NO OPTION!)

    i have a dslite and a dsi with 1.3 for alternate options.
    please help!
     
  2. nilly

    Newcomer nilly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I've seen those cables being sold as spareparts on some webshops for around 3eur, if you got any reason to suspect the cable is broken you could pick up a spare, have you followed the guide to the word, the card should be facing downward while inserting the cable.
     
  3. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes, i did follow the guide(s).

    still, isn't there any other way?
     
  4. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    The cable only supplies power to the M3i. I guess you could try to hack something to supply power to the board -- I dont know how much would be needed -- and you might fry your card...
     
  5. 777kidis777

    Member 777kidis777 Big Red

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Did you see if you inserted it in properly?
    The flashcard has to be facing down and the arrow pointing out on the cable goes in that way.
     
  6. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    try putting the m3i in your DS or dsi and using the card slot to power the m3i.

    just a word of warning though: my ds might have been broken already, but when i tried this it blew a fuse in the DS and i cannot get it to charge or turn on now
     
  7. nilly

    Newcomer nilly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    USB is 5v, but i would recommend using a multimeter and check what you (in voltage) get on the other end of the cable, with the cable connected to your computer.
    it might aswell be the card that is faulty.

    If you'r all out of multimeters you could always lick the cable end [​IMG][​IMG] lols
     
  8. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you for the licking option. it's not the cable that's broken, but the card itself [​IMG]
    my tongue did get a shock, so that explains a lot. I'm gonna try getting all the dust out my card and see if that works.

    Thank you!
     
  9. nilly

    Newcomer nilly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    You licked it? lolz. thats how a real man checks his power voltage, 5v small buzz, 12v yah numbing tounge, 220v like a jaw-breaking uppercut from ear-biting tyson.
     

Share This Page