My (fairly outdated) build

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by YayMii, Jan 16, 2011.

Jan 16, 2011

My (fairly outdated) build by YayMii at 8:53 PM (553 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    So I just updated my really old PC. I'm planning to buy a good PC next year, but I'm wondering if you guys think this is good enough for now.

    CPU=Athlon 64 2.2Ghz (performance rated as a Pentium 4 3.2Ghz), Newcastle core, Socket 754. (going to overclock it)
    Cooler/heatsink=Zalman CNPS10x Performa heatsink with fans from a Corsair H70 liquid-cooler (the heatsink is overkill, the fans are 58CFM hand-me-downs from my bro who got 110CFM replacements)
    RAM=2GB DDR400 (1x1GB+2x512MB. clocked at DDR333, only because Socket 754 can only handle PC3200 speeds with 2 sticks. All are Kingston Value sticks)
    GPU=Sapphire Radeon 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP (Heavily bottlenecked by CPU, but can't really do much about it)
    Audio=Creative SoundBlaster Live Value (unsupported by Vista/7, but I get along fine with modded drivers)
    Hard Drive=Maxtor 6Y120M0 120GB 7200RPM (old drive, updating to a 1TB Seagate 7200.12 once I find a jumper to limit the bandwidth)
    Mobo=Asus K8N (Socket 754, DDR1, doesn't support SATA2)

    I upgraded it in hopes of playing new games, and it currently plays UT2k4 at 75-120 FPS maxed out. Do you think this is good enough for gaming?
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    ut2k4 is no benchmark

    even my laptops radeon 4100 can play it maxed out on 1366x768 no problem
     
  3. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I only used UT2k4 because that was a game from when this PC was originally purchased (because my dumb geforce 5700LE couldn't play it at max)
     

Share This Page