Multiman + Gaia Question

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by shanefromoz, Mar 18, 2011.

Mar 18, 2011

Multiman + Gaia Question by shanefromoz at 9:31 PM (3,378 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. shanefromoz
    OP

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi All,

    I have a ps3 on 3.41 and use a jailbreak dongle.
    I mainly use either gaia manager or multiman and have a question.
    When i go into my ps3 using ftp i have 2 folders where games are stored GAMES + GAMEZ.
    Most games i have are in the GAMEZ folder but when i transfer from portable hard drive they automatically go into the GAMES folder.
    I have tried to change where they go but cant find the option.
    Can i change this option?
    Also which folder is best for both gaia and multiman?

    Cheers
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Those that use the jailbreak usb device, the default folder is GAMEZ.
    Those that use the CFW, the default folder is GAMES.

    Multiman uses the GAMES folder by default. You can edit the options.ini file and upload it via FTP to the PS3. In the options.ini file you can add or change the default folder.


    Just look for the section and change the settings as needed in the ini.
    Code:
    # Option: Game Backup Folders
    hdd_dir=/dev_hdd0/GAMES
    usb_dir=GAMES
    
    # Option: Look for Game Backups recursively in this folders
    # Hint: leave blank for USB (usb_home) root (/) folder
    # Main search folders:
    hdd_home=/dev_hdd0/GAMES
    usb_home=/GAMES
    
    # Secondary search folders:
    hdd_home2=/dev_hdd0/GAMEZ
    hdd_home3=/dev_hdd0/game/OMAN46756/GAMEZ
    hdd_home4=/dev_hdd0/game/LAUN12345/GAMEZ
    hdd_home5=/dev_hdd0/BDRIPS
    usb_home2=/GAMEZ


    On the PS3 the paths are:
    /dev_hdd0/game/BLES80608/USRDIR/options_default.ini
    /dev_hdd0/game/BLES80608/USRDIR/options.ini
     
  3. shanefromoz
    OP

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks mate.
    Also can someone please explain how i action these on the ps3 control in multiman

    1/. ( ) but its more square like half a square - to delte
    2/. / \ to exit

    I cant see any buttons like that on the ps3 remote ???

    Cheers
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    also more visible on the example picture:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    No need to FTP the options.ini file over. Simply have it in thw root of your USB stick when you install / reinstall MultiMan and it will transfer that file / file settings [​IMG]

    Much quicker and easier than FTP
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Some people use more than 1 external hard drive at a time.

    Not everyone does what you do, you assume too much that way.
     
  7. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    By your definition you have also assumed that everyone has a network connection and can ONLY FTP across to the PS3... You made no mention of the fact that you can have it auto transferred for you during install from the USB. Just have it in the root where the package file is

    However - I agree with my bad wording. I should have said "Another way to transfer the file if you can't FTP is for it to auto transfer during install / reinstall"

    I have not setup network access on the PS3 so when I modify the options file I simply reinstall the latest base version of multiman and it transfers the options file for me. Done in a few seconds and convenient for me.

    Whether I FTP the file over OR reinstall multiman and have it auto transferred over - the file still gets transferred to the exact same location.
     

Share This Page