Multicolored dotted vertical lines on computer

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by nonnonnon, Oct 4, 2010.

Oct 4, 2010
  1. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi. I have a computer wich gets dotted multicolored vertical lines as soon as i start the computer. As the Vista installation is corrupt, i would like to run ubuntu from a USB, to move all important files away from the pc. The problem is that when the install screen in ubuntu shows up the vertical lines is so intense that i cant see a thing. ( the lines are there when i am in BIOS too). I managed to see enough to install Ubuntu one time, but then i was so stupid that i put in a corrupt usb to copy the files to, that the computer stopped up. Now i cant see anything when the Ubuntu instalation comes up. Before that it is varying from time to time how many lines there is.

    Anyone knows how to deal with this problem?
     
  2. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    i'd assume your gpu is screwed
    rip out the hdd and put it in another pc and copy the files
     
  3. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    That is kinda sad, because that is an very expensive Nvidia gpu
    )-: Is there no hope for it?
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,737
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 to the messed up GPU.

    If you overclocked it then your warranty is probably void but if you still have a warranty then I would go that- I doubt it does here but "very expensive" usually refers to corporate grade kit (animators and the like, cad work and stuff like that) which will mean it has a really nice warranty.
    On the other hand if it just means an expensive consumer grade thing then you will probably have to send it back (I am not familiar with warranty law in Norway so I will bow out here).

    As for what caused it then it could be many things but I have seen a few people reflow the graphics chip (similar idea to the 360 RRoD).

    Option 2- get a cheap and cheerful card. Chances are it is PCIe and decent but old cards do not run that much- you can probably pick up a decent one for about the price of a game (I did some poking around mamoz.no and it seems to hold) and PC game requirements (or at least the minimums that work well for games) have stalled in recent years.
     
  5. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    I actualy have one old graphic card. I will try that and see what happens. I doubt that my messed up GPU has warranty [​IMG]
    Thanks for your help (-:
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A long time ago, I had a weird case where, as soon as the comp turned on, the monitor would be completely frazzled out with enough lights and colours to make a hippy happy. It made no sense, yet if I power cycled the monitor itself (turn it off and on by removing the power cable) it fixed itself.
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,737
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually I forgot about that (I have seen it several times myself and seen it on several others)- you need to pull the power cable though and not just push the button.

    Better yet while I could not induce it on demand changing resolution (as a bios/load screen will) did tend to increase the chances somewhat.
     
  8. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Thank You. I tryed that, but no luck...
    It turned out that my old graphic card did not fit in my computer. I am now stuck with an messed up, expansive Nvidia graphics card. Anyone knows about a good, not so expansive card wich fits in my Asus psn e sli mother card?
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Did not fit"... as in, the port was wrong (non PCI-e)? Or didn't fit inside the case (i.e. too long)?
     
  10. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    There was space, but it didnt fit with the cables ( its probably "non PCI-e, then [​IMG] )

    EDIT: I meant the connection between the motherboard and the card, not the "cables"
     

Share This Page