MSI G31M3-v2 and E8400 OC Help

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Patelitojoe, Jun 18, 2009.

Jun 18, 2009
  1. Patelitojoe
    OP

    Newcomer Patelitojoe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    So I recently bought a pc from cyberpower with the hopes to OC my cpu. The stats are roughly

    E8400 @ 3.0ghz

    4.0gb of ram. (some generic brand)

    Windows Vista Ultimate 64x

    320gb HD

    I'm trying to oc to 3.6ghz. I don't have anymore info on the pc unil I get home. The vcore can't be changed on my motherboard but I hear that the e8400 is easy to overclock. Any tips as to how I can overclock my cpu.
     
  2. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No Vcore changing? Make sure that baby doesn't up it itself (as that generally sucks as it is way more then the chip needs). Naturally watch the temps on your proc too and do stability tests along the way (each change) with Orthos or w/e.

    Change 1 variable at a time (upwards); FSB, mem clock, core clock (and Vcore). Also make sure it's the proc being the problem or the memory (or the mobo!).
     
  3. Patelitojoe
    OP

    Newcomer Patelitojoe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I can't even clock it to 3.1ghz. the mobo stops at around 3.05ghz and doesn't boot beyond it. is there anything I might be doing wrong?
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What are you changing to get to 3.1? Also is Vcore changing (or any of the other voltages) while you up the speed?
     
  5. AnotherMuggle

    Newcomer AnotherMuggle Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are OCing a pre-built machine then there's a chance the PSU is not man enough to cope with the increased power draw.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    get a better motherboard, and PSU if its some no-name/generic brand
    thats all I can say...
     

Share This Page