MS Pro Duo problems

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Law, Oct 26, 2008.

Oct 26, 2008

MS Pro Duo problems by Law at 9:18 PM (1,793 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, so I've had a 4GB MS Pro Duo for a couple months now, but when I turned on my PSP just now it said that the memory stick couldn't be read. I can't format it in the PSP, and my computer is only reading it as 1.94 gb. Every time I try to format it, it fails.

    I can get the card replaced by the website I bought it from, but is there any way to fix this?

    Oh, and

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  2. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably a fake
     
  3. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why are you buying fake memory?
    the price of memory stick duo pro's has fallen so much their is no point buying fakes
     
  4. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't know it was fake when I bought it, and it worked perfectly.

    Protip: The memory is all there. I've used it before. Somehow the stick has become corrupted, and I was just asking if there was any way to fix that.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  5. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most fake MS (depending on where you got it) work fine for a couple of months, then suddenly die on you, I just hope it didn't cost you much.
     
  6. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, it was pretty cheap. Like I said I can get it replaced anyway.


    Thanks for being useless, Jasonage and djgarf. I'll come back once the trolls have gone to bed.
     
  7. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WHAT THE FUCK?

    You asked a question, I provided a valid answer. I just told you your MS is probably fake, thus probably no way of fixing it.

    Idiot.
     
  8. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard of this happening a couple times before. I don't think it's fixable.
    Some people said try formatting, I think that's what causes the problem initially in most cases, though.

    Jasonage- He said in his spoiler it was fake.
     
  9. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh I didn't see the spoiler there.

    Sorry Law
     
  10. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I added that after, actually.

    But still, posts like "LOLOLITSFAKE" don't really help.

    Thanks, Gore. I guess I'll just get it replaced and hope for the best. Just kind of pissed off that I can't use my PSP for a couple of days (/Sorry Jasonage). And that I've lost all my saves.

    Funny thing is, I ordered a 8GB Lexar Platinum II card earlier.

    Think the 4GB got jealous and killed itself?
     
  11. Maybe

    Member Maybe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    LOLITSFAKE. jk jk. the only thing i can think of is formatting it, but you said it doesnt work, so umm...try putting it in your comp, or usb cable and delete all files then try to format it via psp. [​IMG] good luck
     
  12. sudeki300

    Member sudeki300 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds fake to me. the 4GB pro duo's have really dropped in price or you can buy the sd to pro duo adapter which are even cheaper. i have a sony m2 8GB card which slides into a pro duo adapter this was only £30 GBP and i have had no problems also this has magic gate.......................sudeki300
     
  13. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    Yes the 4gig got jealous and killed itself. [​IMG]

    Well, if you added it after, I guess nobody is at fault.
    Except sudeki! [​IMG]
     
  14. Maybe

    Member Maybe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    rofl i use m2 for my phone
     
  15. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Meh, most cheap electronics have a "seed" and will commit suicide after a while.
    If you've ordered from the same website, I'd cancel it. If you want a cheap (fake) MS then go to http://www.dealextreme.com - I've had my fake 4GB MS that was from there for around 6 months now, haven't had a problem.
     
  16. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah, different website. My friend got an 8GB Lexar Platinum II from them and he says it works fine, Magicgate supported. I don't think I'll order from the site where I got my 4GB again.
     
  17. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right then, hope it does turn out to be genuine. Could I have the URL of the genuine website please? I could use an 8GB ;]
     
  18. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well whether or not it's legit I don't know, because my friend tends to lie out of his ass a lot. http://www.mymemory.co.uk/, it's 40% off. If you feel like waiting a while, I'll verify it when it arrives. But I think DealExtreme have an 8GB up for about $20.

    Thing is, $20 is like what, £15 now?
     
  19. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

    Its £19.99 now, I think I'm going to wait until you get yours to buy it. Keep me PMed! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page