Moving to Australia and taking my NTSC-U Wii with me

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by EvanUnisil, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. EvanUnisil
    OP

    Member EvanUnisil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a bunch of NTSC games, will I have any problems playing my Wii in Australia on the televisions there? Will I need to do anything? Or will everything run Ok?
     
  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    most modern televesions can play both pal and ntsc here
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    that's what I was gonna say buy a tv which supports both
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    lcd and plasmas are dirt cheap here now too only $1500 for a 127cm are economy is 2nd best in the world right now [​IMG]
     
  5. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Buy a PAL TV. Australia uses the PAL system for teleivsions.
     
  6. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Just be sure to run PAL games you get there through GeckoOS or something.
     
  7. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    As said, most TV's will be able to play both PAL and NTSC, even oldish ones.

    To use your Wii though you will need to buy a stepdown converter as we operate at 240v and US is 110v. Plus a plug converter so you can plug you're US style plugs into our sockets.
     
  8. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    You will need a power converter:

    Australia = 240 volts
    US = 110 volts

    You will blow up your US console using it here without a converter...
     
  9. boof222

    Member boof222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    NSW
    Country:
    Australia
    yeh you delfinitly need a converter my dads an electrician and he said it will blow up without 1
     
  10. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just needs to buy a power supply when you get there
     
  11. masterdeluxe247

    Newcomer masterdeluxe247 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    @OP: How come you are not taking your TV?
     
  12. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    instead of buying a converter and adapter, you may as well just get an aussie power cord for your wii as the wii itself is identical to pal wiis except for the sysmenu running on it...
     
  13. boof222

    Member boof222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    NSW
    Country:
    Australia
    no my dad said it would still blow up.
    its because the ntsc wii is running off 110v so getting an australian cord would blow it up its exactly the same without an australian cord.
    you need to get a power converter
    my dad recomends getting a power converter from dicksmith oelectronic stores like that
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    indeed it will blow up (well not exactly blow up you'll see a very large spark than the wii will never turn on again [​IMG] ) our power is different here so you need a converter or you could always buy a pal wii here their also dirt cheap [​IMG]
     
  15. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    They sell travel power converters at Radio Shack (I think they are called "The Source" or something in Canada. These converters are used when you go on vacation to other countries that use different power systems than the North American 110V 15A . You probably have more than one electronic gadget that you will take with you so I would recommend picking one up.
     
  16. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia

    He's saying buy/order and Australian Wii AC Adaptor that supports (obviously) our power supply. With the TV discussion, my older bro borrowed his friends NTSC-U GCN no av's or ac. Runs fine with my GC's AC Adaptor and displays perfectly on my TV.

    So, get an Australian AC Adaptor for Wii from Nintendo and the Av's you got with it should be fine on our TV's.
     
  17. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Isn't the power supply of the Wii automated to work 110-220...?? [​IMG] let me see......



    EDIT: Well it is not, but if the Australian power supplys say OUTPUT: DC 12v 3.7A, then you just need to buy one over there and you're set to go...!! [​IMG]
     
  18. upbumpo190

    Member upbumpo190 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The 5th dimension
    Country:
    France
    Actually, you're 100% right.

    First thought:

    You can either buy a 240V-110V transformer or buy an Australian power cord. (For those who say this is wrong, the Wii is not 110v itself, but rather uses a very low DC voltage, only the power adapter is affected, it transforms 110v to let's say, 10V DC and same in Australia, just 240V to 10V DC. Get a new adapter, and you are good to go.) The same goes for just about any other console. Wii, DS, PSP, Xbox 360, PS2 but I believe the PS3's is built in, it could be dual voltage, I don't know.

    If the output voltage is OK, then you're fine. Just make sure you buy one with 240V AC input and 10V DC output or, whatever the Wii is rated for.

    For the long run, I recommend just buying a new adapter, since the voltage transformers you buy in a store (ex: radio-shack) don't modulate the frequency, which everybody seems to forget about. The United States' power grid runs 60Hz whereas Europe, and Oceania run 50Hz. Run a picky 110V appliance with a 240V transformer, it will work, but you risk reducing it's life, and expect problems (ex: a 110V NTSC tube TV I ran on 240V, had massive and extremely annoying flickering)

    You will rarely find a frequency modulator + voltage transformer in one package, at a store, and if you did, you wouldn't be able to afford it.

    Second though:

    Don't buy one at radio-shack, they have a bad design. The ones made for Australia and whatnot. We have indented outlets in France, and the American bought transformer have flat plug, right prongs, but don't plug-in right because of the shape. Don't believe me? I'll send you pictures. I've also had problems with the prongs being too far apart, and having to bend the thing to fit.

    Buy one in Australia, which are generally better, form factor wise, and more powerful. (Radio shack sells 50W transformers, which is good for a shaver or a VCR, and that's about it. The ones I bough here range from 200W to 1000W, I run my American blenders and such on them.)

    I hope you enjoy your new country, and good luck adapting to the culture! At least they speak English, I had to learn French. >_>

    UPDATE: I just checked, the Radio-Shack transformer is good for 200mA (Milli Amps) or 0.2 Amps, which is NOT enough for your Wii. Just buy a new adapter when you get there.

    ~Chris

    Source: Been there, done that.
     
  19. boof222

    Member boof222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    NSW
    Country:
    Australia
    after my dad read that lol i ended up being the 1 that made the mistake (woopsies [​IMG] ) what upbumpo said is fine.

    EDIT: quadruple posted woops computer is shit
     

Share This Page