MoonShell 2 & Commercial ROMs

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Blackiris, Apr 18, 2009.

Apr 18, 2009
  1. Blackiris
    OP

    Member Blackiris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Here's the question:
    Can MoonShell 2 be used to load commercial ROMs?

    Why I thought it could work:
    Let's take an example. DSision 2 was also a homebrew application used as a menu alternative, right? But with the right programming and stuff I can't understand, spinal_cord got to make it so that when you loaded a commercial ROM, that ROM would run with YSmenu instead and play the game. Now if we look at MoonShell 2 (Beta 10), there is this folder called "extlink" where, according to Densetsu3000's readme, says that "You can set MoonShell 2 to open filename extensions using external applications." At the same time, the same readme also states that "If you try to set an incompatible file for the Extended Link function, the file will just open normally."

    To be honest, I have yet to try that with YSMENU in the extlink folder to see if it works or not; I will be doing that soon to find out. But if it doesn't work, is there any way to make it work like how spinal_cord's DSision 2 did?


    EDIT: Dammit, I forgot that YSmenu doesn't work everywhere. I was gonna use it on EDGE where I keep everything...oh well, this topic should at least help those others who use YSmenu-compatible flashcarts. *takes out DSTT and does required testing*

    EDIT 2: On recent testing, I found out that simply renaming the YSmenu.nds according to the extlink format (nds.YSmenu.nds) won't do. It does exactly what the second quoted readme line says; it opens YSMenu normally instead of auto-loading the NDS with YSMenu like DSision 2. Now this question I asked is seeming more and more useless for me. [​IMG]

    EDIT 3: What are you still doing here? http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=149734 now go go go XD
     
  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I know that such a system exists (albeit not for ROMS) in AKAIO.
    If it works with DSision 2, it'll probably work with MS2, maybe with some tweaking.
     
  3. a2h

    Member a2h GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    Australia
    What DSision does is simply edit YSMenu.ini's autostart line.

    So the solution is to create an extlink compatible app that takes the filename and edits YSMenu.ini, then launches it.
     
  4. linoul

    Newcomer linoul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    China
  5. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SWEET! now you can run moonshell as a standard ROM playing firmware for ds! 1 question though, does it support homebrew?
     
  6. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    I problem I now see is soft resetting or resetting at all.
     
  7. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought moonlight released the guide how to make moonshell reset for every flashcart already. >.
     
  8. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
     
  9. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    >.< back to the main firmware of that cart so not ysmenu
     
  10. Blackiris
    OP

    Member Blackiris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    @a2h
    This must be what linoul did...is it?

    @linoul
    Oh s**t, if that does exactly what I think it does, then this question is answered =D

    @sprogurt
    Yes, MoonShell 2 originally supported just homebrew loading. Although, this thread says otherwise... [​IMG]

    @sprogurt & jester13
    Hmm, soft-reset...I believe I made an EDGE thread about that with no answer as of now...
    In any case, if you check the MoonShell 2 thread there's an update for the soft-reset method and someone says it worked on a flashcart. (was it AK2?) It might work for people using different carts (and with the soft-reset files from the 8.2 package) other than what I confirmed that doesn't work; which is using EDGE.

    So the soft-reset problem back to the firmware is the problem with priority right now, and not the "using MoonShell 2 to load a ROM with YSmenu and soft-resetting back to MoonShell 2" problem, unfortunately. But I do prefer that the prioritized problem be solved first, since this is just an extra; I'd be glad enough to have MoonShell 2 actually load a commercial ROM anyway [​IMG]


    EDIT:
    Oh wow. Thanks to all of you guys for posting here, I think I'm gonna make a new thread which will serve as a guide on how to load commercial ROMs with MoonShell 2 in a bit. I'm pretty sure it'll come in handy for the others, so someone please lock this thread? [​IMG]
     
  11. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    O_O isn't ysmenu based off dstt? just create the installer for that!
     
  12. Sandman00009

    Member Sandman00009 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    tried to get moonshell 2 to play roms on m3 real but every time i boot it i get an error
     

Share This Page