Moonshell 171 has a virus

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by dman777, Aug 9, 2009.

Aug 9, 2009

Moonshell 171 has a virus by dman777 at 8:59 AM (1,692 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. dman777
    OP

    Newcomer dman777 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded Moonshell 171 from this website. My virus scanner complained about the .exe's in it being infected, but I thought the virus scanner was wrong. But I ran those Exe's to configure my moonshell and after that I couldn't surf the internet because my network adaptors were disabled. I would think that anything I downloaded from this site would be safe, so I am pretty surprised.
     
  2. mrfatso

    Member mrfatso That guy!!

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,932
    Location:
    @Your Home,behind the sofa
    Country:
    Singapore
    strange i just downloaded them and ran them through nod32 and no virus was detected, so i guess u were unlucky??

    edit: Spybot didn't detect anything as well :|
     
  3. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Master™

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure? because i am pretty sure all files in gbatemp are virus-free for they are being moderated and scanned...
     
  4. dman777
    OP

    Newcomer dman777 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    yes, i am 100% sure. i used comodo internet security suit. i thought it was a false alarm, but after wards(executing setup.exe) my network adapters were disabled and the virus spread from 2 instances(before i did the setup.exe) to like 24 instances. all of them were in in the folder of moonshell and firefox(application data).
     
  5. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    False Positives, try switching AV. (Comodo may have an awesome firewall but the AV is pretty bad)
     
  6. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    maybe you had a virus already in your PC, which then infected the moonshell files.
     
  7. dman777
    OP

    Newcomer dman777 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    no, it was not a false positive(as i first thought myself) because my network adapters were turned off. and then afterwards(hitting setup.exe) the infection reports increased from 2 to like 28.
     
  8. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    I downloaded it previously and it did not have a problem.
     
  9. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    My MalwareBytes, NOD32 and Spybot didn't find anything.
     
  10. shinnyuuya

    Member shinnyuuya GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Town of Rainstorm
    Country:
    Indonesia
    try download from other website instead.
     
  11. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    ^ What he says. You probably had a virus already.
     
  12. XMog

    Newcomer XMog Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    So... you're saying you already had two infections before running MoonShell? You know viruses can infect other executables, right?

    I also don't see why a virus would disable your network adapters (if that's what you're implying MoonShell did), as doing that would prevent it from spreading easily or reporting information...

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    I think he's saying because he wasn't connected to the internet, he couldn't have got the virus from elsewhere apart from the files he already had.
     
  14. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    The virus could make an unhandled exception in the Kernel which disabled the network connections (hapenned in a laptop a couple of hours ago). but I think he already had the virus in ther machine. If the AV detected the virus there that's maybe because the files got infected while downloading them.
     
  15. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    This. Only possible explanation if it's not a false positive.
     
  16. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    i doubt that moonshell gave you the virus.
    maye you shouldn't have had porn open in the other tab ;p
     

Share This Page