Monster Hunter Tri and instrument games

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiPower, Aug 1, 2010.

Aug 1, 2010
  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks to all testers, i think there's no testing needed anymore. All games and instruments seem to work with base IOS56. And the speed with base IOS56 seems to be the same as with base IOS57. So i recommend everybody to just use cIOS56rev20 for everything until i get reports that another base IOS is under *any* circumstances a better choice.

    There's are tons of different IOS bases that can be used for the cIOS now(rev20 release), so i want to figure out if the number of cIOS one could possibly need can be reduced. I think there are only 2 categories of games until now:
    Games that require IOS37 as base IOS(or some other, but work with IOS37 base)
    Games that don't require IOS37 as base

    Well, i would like to know which of the IOS5x can replace IOS37 completely, and will work for more games then, because it might have something that IOS5x has that other IOS don't have.

    Long story short:
    I want to know which IOS bases allow to play Monster Hunter Tri without the freeze(i hope you know where, i don't) and allow to use the usb instruments that don't work using other base IOS.

    So:
    In case of Monster Hunter Tri: install cIOS38rev20, and play until you get the freeze. And then test IOS53,55,56 and 57 up to the same point in the game.
    In case of the intrument games: install cIOS38rev20, and confirm that certain usb instruments won't work. And then test IOS53,55,56 and 57 if any of them gets the intrument(s) to work.
    Oh and please seperate the results for both, they could be different.

    If this works out, i'm hoping for a general recommendation like: Install a cIOS with base IOS56 for MH3 and instrument games, and one with base IOS57 for everything else.

    Do not test the nand emu yet, there seem to be serious issues. But of course once they are cleared, i would like to get nand emu results on the different base IOS too.
     


  2. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    Great idea. Hopefully we can work out a nice, quick and concise set of bases to use during the install and hopefully get some consistency. Unfortunately, I don't own any of the affected games, but I strongly urge those that do to contribute some data so we can find the best approach.
     
  3. LocoRoco

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    MH3
    base 56 = Works
    base 37 = Works
    base 38 = Black Screen After Selecting Begin Game
    base 57 = Black Screen After Selecting Begin Game

    Karaoke Revolution
    base 56 = Loads up..Doesn't recognize the mic
    base37 = Works
    base 38 = Works
    base 57 = Loads up..Doesn't recognize the mic

    CFG + Fat32
     
  4. Levente

    Member Levente GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    Hungary
    why cIOS38 nad not 37?
     
  5. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    its to obtain a "known bad" sample for comparison
    how its expected to work you should already know

    38 is expected crash
    37 would most likely work
    leaving you unable to determine the location of the crash
     
  6. denieru7

    Member denieru7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Monster Hunter Tri (PAL):

    cIOS37rev20, installed to 250 - Black screen and noise after selecting Begin Game

    Hermes V4 - 37 merged with 38, installed to 223 - Works
     
  7. FragAguy

    Member FragAguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Monster hunter tri:

    cIOS rev20:
    base IOS36 Black screen when you press begin game in the main menu.
    base IOS37 Works.
    base IOS38 Black screen when you press begin game in the main menu.
    base IOS53 Works.
    base IOS55 Works.
    base IOS56 Works.
    base IOS57 Black screen when you press begin game in the main menu.

    CFGloader 58a FAT32
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    I tested Guitar Hero World Tour and GH 5 with the GHWT Mic using cfg58a

    cios57r20:
    GHWT: no Mic detected
    GH5: does not start

    cios56r20:
    GHWT: works
    GH5: works

    looks like 56 is a really good candidate for replacing 37 and maybe general use
    will go and test some more GH+RB with it

    how about a wiki page to summarize results?

    sooner or later we need a default slot layout too
     
  9. Sabin_Figaro

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    Monster Hunter 3:

    cios38r19: Freezes
    cios56r20: Works

    MH3 requires cios37 or cios56.
     
  10. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thank you very much, now a comparable result for instrument games, and i'm happy.
     
  11. FragAguy

    Member FragAguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If I had music games, I would make another list. WiiPower, you should check Waninkoko's twitter. He had something to say about the broken nand emu.
     
  12. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    He posted that after telling me the same on #cIOS on irc. It might be that the old bases like IOS38 work, but i would just wait for the fixed release.
     
  13. oakwind

    Newcomer oakwind Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder why I'm the only one that can get rev19 base 57 to work on MHT....
     
  14. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    cIOS rev20 using CFGloader 58a FAT32

    Guitar Hero World Tour with GHWT Mic:
    base 36: works
    base 37: works
    base 38: works
    base 53: works
    base 55: works
    base 56: works
    base 57: no Mic detected
    base 80: works

    Guitar Hero 5 with GHWT Mic:
    base 36: fails to load with black screen
    base 37: works
    base 38: fails to load with black screen
    base 53: works
    base 55: works
    base 56: works
    base 57: fails to load with black screen
    base 80: fails to load with black screen

    Rock Band Green Day with GHWT Mic:
    base 36: works
    base 37: works
    base 38: works
    base 53: works
    base 55: works
    base 56: works*
    base 57: no Mic detected
    base 80: works

    during testing I noticed something odd
    I had the Mic connected the whole time
    but during RBGD base 56 I disconnected it
    after reconnecting it was not recognised any more
    restarting the game fixed it
    having only two tests to go I did not investigate this further
     
  15. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    And if you diconnect the mic while using another IOS? Does it only happen on IOS56?

    So this is good info about that mic, leaving only the usb rockband instruments?
     
  16. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    RB2: works with both base 37 or 56
    GH5: same
    B:RB: same
    BH: same
    DSI:PH: same

    So it appears that base 56 is a good replacement for 37. I didnt notice any real difference between the 2, but I only played for a few moments. I did have problems with rev19 (base 37) songs would lag and freeze a bit in RB2, haven't noticed that with rev20 (base 37) tho.

    The only thing that I have required base 38 for has been to load ciso for hombrew

    They were tested using all 3 RB2 instruments (just the mic for Sing It).
     
  17. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    It's the usb instruments that are not compatible with most IOS bases, the wireless intruments should work on everything.
     
  18. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, I edited the above post, was using the RB2 USB instruments.

    So I guess the last question is:
    How well does a cIOS based on 56 work for all other games, since it appears to work fine for 'special' games if there isn't much of a speed/compatibility difference between that and 57 or 38 for 'normal' games, then maybe just using base 56 is all we would need.
     
  19. haiggoh

    Newcomer haiggoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Actually all Instruments are wireless. But those from Guitar Hero use the Wiimotes so they will work with any IOS , there's no need to test. Rock Band 2 DOES have Usb-Instruments, they're wireless but use USB-Dongles.

    So jakejm79's test brought us pretty much the last missing peace of information: After mics have been tested quite in-depth, now we also know that the RB2-Instruments work with IOS 56 as well. I assume that Rock-Band one and Rock Band Beatles will be pretty much the same.

    Now it would be interesting how fast IOS56 is. Because if it doesn't load faster than IOS37 there would be no need to switch to 56.


    If IOS56 loads games as fast as IOS57 it could even replace anything else and be the ultimate IOS to be used for every game. But that's very unlikely...

    My suggestion would be a merge of IOS56 and 57 [​IMG]
     
  20. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    The RB2 Mic isn't wireless. I did also test The Beatles: Rock Band (B:RB) and all worked fine, I dont have RB1 or any of the track packs, but I assume they would all work the same has RB2.
     

Share This Page