Monster Hunter Tri 480p

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Anubis, Apr 28, 2010.

Apr 28, 2010

Monster Hunter Tri 480p by Anubis at 12:36 AM (4,590 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Can anyone run this at 480p? For some reason it doesn't detect my Wii's windscreen settings.
    I'm using Component cables on a 22'' monitor and I still get black bars and a lot of blur.
     
  2. ItsMetaKnight

    Member ItsMetaKnight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Denmark
  3. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    You don't have black bars?
     
  4. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    It's running in 480p with no issues for me. No blur, no bars.
     
  5. deszaras

    Newcomer deszaras Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    I've also have black bars using component cables, dunno why...
     
  6. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    running it fine with 480p component maybe its because its hooked up to a monitor i hear they have some problems with the wii's resolution :S
     
  7. deszaras

    Newcomer deszaras Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    I was watching the video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LpvF5bH_yWo) from Hezkore where he is showing how to play MH3 using different usb loaders and disc. If you look closely you can tell that this black bar thing only affects usb loaders.
     
  8. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    It really looks like that's the problem.
    Can any GX Loader user report if they can get the game to work widescreen without the bars?
     
  9. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I 'm running it widescreen, on a 32" LCD no blur & no bars, Wii is NTSC, so is DL.
    USB loader GX off a 8GB WBFS formatted stick, vidpatch on, 002 to anti
     
  10. Hezkore

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hey look, that's my video lol..
    I'm not running at 480p, no component cables right now. :/
    And I can't say I've noticed any black bars :S
    (My TV has stupid thick black edges though that's very annoying -_-)
     
  11. paulee123

    Member paulee123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Yep i get bars on the side of the screen, i'm using usb gx
    very strange.
     
  12. Shadic

    Newcomer Shadic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine on Configurable USB Loader. Component cables, 32" TV.
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Running fine in 16:9 using Component on a 32" LCD using GeckoOS.

    A little blurry (and I'm pretty sure that's just the game), but no black bars whatsoever.
     
  14. Tagg7

    Member Tagg7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine at 480p (widescreen) using USB Loader GX.
     
  15. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Apparently it doesn't have anything to do with your loader, just your screen. Even if they support 480p some will have black bars.
     
  16. ItsMetaKnight

    Member ItsMetaKnight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Denmark
    It works just fine with my legit copy. [​IMG]
     
  17. apoptygma

    Member apoptygma GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    Australia
    Not sure why this one seems to be cropping up. I'm using an NTSC disc-image with USB loader GX on a PAL Wii with component cables and a 50" 16:9 TV and it looks fine, no blur or bars and I'm not using video patching or any fancy options in the loader.
    The only thing I'd pick on is that the font they used for dialog is very small!
     
  18. KKajun

    Newcomer KKajun Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    My 32' lcd gets black bars on the sides, it depends on your TV and if it will stretch the image.
     
  19. boondoklife

    Member boondoklife GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Jah's Pocket
    Country:
    United States
    I have small black bars on the side of mine too but this comment concerns me. If it is correct and it depends on the tv, then it would seem the game is not native 480p? I know my tv will do 480p and on up to 720p (no 1080p for me), all the other Wii screens fill out the tv screen. If the game is not native then maybe some peoples tvs are upscaling it to fit some how, but that really would not make any sense either as the resolution of the games should be fixed.
     
  20. PizzaPino

    Member PizzaPino GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    El Salvador
    i'm using wiiflow, 480p and have black bars on the sides.
    other games don't have bars on the sides with 480p

    edit:
    it seems like the game really doesnt have native widescreen. even people with original discs have bars on the sides.
    http://www.gamespot.com/wii/rpg/monsterhun...&pid=943655
    what a shame
     

Share This Page