Monitor fuzzy display

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by 3bbb7, Apr 21, 2013.

Apr 21, 2013

Monitor fuzzy display by 3bbb7 at 2:59 AM (788 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    I hooked my laptop up to a tv which has a 1080p display but when I choose it, it is fuzzy.
    I used an HDMI cord to connect

    I turned down the resolution and its still fuzzy. You can see stuff but its fuzzy enough where it doesnt look good.
    Ive tried messing with settings in AMD control panel but nothing fixes it... any ideas?
     


  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many TVs aren't set up properly for PC output and will end up fuzzy. Go through the TV settings and see if you can find any mode or preset settings for PC. Failing that, you can try using the display software to try and change the output mode (from RBG to... Whatever the other mode was called, which is designed to display on older TVs better).
     
  3. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,110
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    My TV has a specific option in the menu that says "PC mode". Try looking for something like that.
     
  4. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Theres no pc mode, Ill try the second method you said.
     
  5. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Turning down your resolution will most likely result in a fuzzy picture. If your TV truly is 1080p, then you should choose the 1080 x 1920 resolution on your PC. It should result in a pixel perfect picture. Which TV is it?
     
  6. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know the exact model of the TV I can check tomorrow but it is 1080x1920 1080p. When I turn the tv on it shows that on the top right.
    The brand is COBY
     
  7. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    It says on the back COBY 19" TFT LCD TV
    AC-100V-240V 50Hz/60Hz 60W
    doesnt say anythings else
     
  8. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If your laptop is outputting at the native resolution of your television (allegedly 1080x1920), then you might try adjusting the refresh rate; that's a common thing people overlook when they get fuzzy output displays.
     
  9. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    My native laptop display is 1366x768. I used the Amd control center to change the display size and tried nearly every option available but its always fuzzy. What do you mean by changing the refresh rate?
     
  10. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    I would imagine that it would give you the option to select the native resolution of your television. Go into your screen resolution settings and try playing around with the highest resolution after outputting only to your television (and not duplicating the display on both your laptop and TV). This might unlock the extra setting for a higher resolution display that it couldn't otherwise display while worrying about displaying the picture on your laptop.
     
  11. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    There's no resolution options on the tv and I can select 1920x1080 from the amd control center already :/
     
  12. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Try the resolutions to other 16:9 resolutions like 1280x720 (720p).

    Perhaps you could post a picture that shows the problem?
     
  13. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FYI, refresh rate is usually set to 59 or 60Hz.

    EDIT: also, I've never seen a 19" TV that supports 1080p natively. The fuzziness could be a result of downscaling by the TV.
     
  14. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Just a heads up, it's actually 1920 x 1080, not the other way around.
     
  15. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Haha, yeah... I've been looking on too many phone specs lately ;)
     
    geoflcl and Rydian like this.
  16. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think a picture would describe the fuzzyness. You can still read text on screen and its usable but it's fuzzy enough where after a while of using it I got a headache.

    I have tried putting the resolution on 1280x720 and it's still pretty fuzzy.

    Could this be an issue with the TV itself ? its not hooked up to anything else so I can't test with channels or anything
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Take a pic anyways so we can see more of the situation.
     
  18. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I will have a few up tomorrow
     
  19. moerik

    Member moerik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Canada, Alberta
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried to increase the sharpness option on your TV?
     
  20. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Sharpness is at 100, which is better than the 50 it was on before but still not very good
     

Share This Page