Codex0

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
New Zealand
Hey everyone

Has anyone here had much luck with just hot-swapping STR files to swap voice packs between versions of a game?

I've been playing around with doing this with Ape Escape for PS1 as the EU/UK voices and the US ones differ, but the US version of the game runs much better. (I own both but prefer the UK voice acting)

I managed to swap the files and update the bin so it would boot (albeit with the forbidden ps1 boot screen lol) but the voices just disappeared opposed to changed.

I was probably a bit naive in hoping that hot-swapping the files would work lol.

Any thoughts?

I haven't got much experience with modding ps1 games / disks but am happy to try things, I'm a developer so I'm mainly just missing the domain knowledge for modding ps1 titles

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
Country
United Kingdom
"I was probably a bit naive in hoping that hot-swapping the files would work"
Not really. It is the first thing I would try and works a lot of the time on any system where you have files to swap around like this; most times it does not work being when the other region lost information (Japanese voice acting being a a far more prominent thing/required thing for the Japanese player base than whatever team is localising something) or sometimes when an English only game for North America becomes multi5 or something when appearing in Europe. Coders are lazy by design and there is usually little benefit in rearranging file order, the respective calls, format and whatever else. It has happened before, though usually more when things are coming out of Japan and being independently localised to English twice (once for each region) and one put more effort in than the other.