Modified Backup Launcher! - Gamma

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Forsaekn, Nov 14, 2008.

Nov 14, 2008
  1. Forsaekn
    OP

    Member Forsaekn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    Same deal as last time, updated for gamma.
    See post here for original 0.3b autoboot.

    This modified build will now automatically boot directly into the game, unless you are holding '1' down on either the wiimote during launch. This will enter the configuration menu where you can change Language, Force TV Signal type, change Hooktype, enable Ocarina, etc.
    Usage: Hold '1' during launch to enter boot configuration menu.
    NOTE THIS CHANGE

    Changes from 0.3b:
    - Button to enter configuration changed
    - Full menu is displayed
    - Autoboots ~3 seconds quicker

    download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/z4tzatj0omi/...r_0.3_gamma.zip

    UPDATE: for those of you who want to keep the original channel art (from 0.3b)
    download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/2akjb20w2lz/..._gamma_orig.zip

    The archives include the dol, modified sourcecode, and a Channel WAD created by me. (Banner image was created by shadowmoses and altered by djtaz, Icon images and sound by myself)
    NOTE: make sure you still install the CIOS before using the backup launcher, or it will not work regardless of where you run it from.

    Enjoy!

    Banner: [​IMG]

    Icons: [​IMG] [​IMG]
     


  2. PizzaPino

    Member PizzaPino GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    El Salvador
    thank you!
     
  3. Darknesss

    Newcomer Darknesss Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Could you add "Hold 2 for rebooter" or something?
     
  4. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    *thumbup*
     
  5. xchiminox

    Newcomer xchiminox Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    The speed at which all of these updates are showing up completely dazzle me. Thank you!!
     
  6. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Any way to like press 2 or A or B to auto reboot with Hook (as if you went in, and pressed B)?

    That would be nice as well... but if not possible, that's cool too...
     
  7. Forsaekn
    OP

    Member Forsaekn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    I could, but at the moment all of my energy is going into finishing up my cSM for alpha testing. The custom system menu currently boots games from the disc channel without any reboot necessary, so autobooting with hook would be obsolete within a matter of days.

    it also reads gamecube backup discs, but those cannot be played at the moment because MIOS needs to be patched (retail pressed discs are playable and still work normally). Full region free system, recovery menu, no copy flag bit removed, and the disc channel can be moved around among other features ive listed a bunch of times already [​IMG]

    Stay tuned.
     
  8. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I vote for patching MIOS first!! Everyone else is loading from the disc menu, you should totally just crack the hell out of MIOS so you'd be the first to do it, and I would love you in that special way that only one man can love another man... just don't tell my wife, lol
     
  9. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    jaj im not gonna be childish but will you release today or tommorrow or somwere in the furure ... cause your csm looks great !
     
  10. Forsaekn
    OP

    Member Forsaekn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    Like right now, my wii is sporting cSM v0.2a and its pretty much like having a modchip, without physically having one installed. Backups read and boot just like retail pressed discs.
     
  11. Darknesss

    Newcomer Darknesss Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Err, if its a custom system menu, is it built on top of the system menu, or is it an actual built from the ground up custom menu?

    Once bootmii is released we will no longer be tied to the Wii's System menu, and the real fun begins [​IMG]
     
  12. littleshinobi520

    Newcomer littleshinobi520 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    it is not working for me. when i go to the homebrew channel and click on the installer i press load and nothing happens. please help me i realy want to play some cod5
     
  13. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    are you still busy with the installer or is it already coded
     
  14. Forsaekn
    OP

    Member Forsaekn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    Im shooting for tonight/tomorrow for testing (handing it out to a few people Ive already been in contact with) and after they give the thumbs up i'll release the first revision to the public. It all depends though if this last feature im implementing gives me trouble or not, but that's my ballpark answer for you.

    And the installer isnt quite finished yet, but its not hard. im distributing the alpha to testers in wad form though for convenience.
    Also it is a complete system menu replacement.

    Fors
     
  15. HaloBenish

    Member HaloBenish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Country:
    Canada
    Im open for testing if you need anyone else [​IMG]
    I already have 20+ 1:1 discs burned that boot perfectly through rebooter with gamma.
     
  16. Luriden

    Member Luriden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Country:
    United States
    Rebooting with hooks doesn't work for me. I get a black screen when going back to the menu after pressing B.
     
  17. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    hehe i have 30 + XD [​IMG]
     
  18. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    forsaekn : im really impressed that you could make a csm in such a short time !
     
  19. joker86

    Newcomer joker86 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    how hard would it be to remove the "press 1 for menu" text from the channel guys

    i really like the channel however it would confuse the kids

    any advice or anyone willin to rip it out for me

    would be well obliged
     
  20. Forsaekn
    OP

    Member Forsaekn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    I've been working on it for well over a month now [​IMG] without the luxury of BootMii, i have to triple check my work to make sure I dont accidently brick myself during development.
     

Share This Page