Modding the WiiU Safe ?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by KEITH-IRL, Jan 16, 2013.

Jan 16, 2013

Modding the WiiU Safe ? by KEITH-IRL at 2:51 PM (12,087 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. KEITH-IRL
    OP

Newcomer KEITH-IRL Member

United Kingdom
    Hi guys

I recently got a WiiU which I am loving at the minute, although I'm looking to do the Homebrew Mod, I own nearly every console which all are modded e.g. Xbox360 LT3.0 ,PS3 CFW. I like to mod things lol , so my question is , is safe?

Is it possible for Nintendo to ban?, if they released an update would it brake the system?
    Reason im asking is im new to this never had a Wii before so im kind of a noob at the minute.

Thanks

2. Hielkenator

Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

Netherlands
    You can only mod your Wii side of you Wiiu ( vWii )
    The Wiiu part itself cannot be hacked yet.

as with all mods you will lose your warranty.
    I relatively safe atm.

3. d0rks0ul

Newcomer d0rks0ul Member

Jamaica
    Nothing is ever 100% and no one can predict what Nintendo is going to do in the future. Don't do it if you're not willing to accept the risks. Banning, bricking, voiding your warranty, or other undesirable outcomes are all risks with modifying. Proceed at your own risk.

4. KEITH-IRL
    OP

Newcomer KEITH-IRL Member

United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies, my only real concern is that if they updated the system it would brick it as files like the ISO files has been modified , do you guys think it would be possible ? and if you dont update it would that mean no online or miiverse?

5. julialy

Member julialy Homebrewer

United States
    The current Update does not affect VII mode.
    If the system software sees an update is available, the system will block VII mode until your system is updated.

(EDIT: made some correct)

6. d0rks0ul

Newcomer d0rks0ul Member

Jamaica