MIOS or Not?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by timishu, Oct 28, 2009.

Oct 28, 2009

MIOS or Not? by timishu at 7:48 PM (942 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. timishu
    OP

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    I have recently been trying to run a GC multiboot DVD to run on my Wii, but I am not sure if I will need to patch my MIOS or not. Considering I have a modchip that can play GC backups, will is it required that I patch my MIOS in order to run a Gamecube Backup Launcher?
     
  2. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    i believe you need a patched mios to run multidisc gamecube isos
     
  3. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    It is needed to run the GCN Backup Launcher, but I think you don't have to patch the MIOS if your modchip supports GCN games (at least my D2CPro allowed me to play multigame ISO's from the Disc Channel). The System Menu would have to detect it as a simple GCN game.
     
  4. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    No, you don't need to modify anything if you've already got a modchip.
     

Share This Page