Minor Vista problem? Games hiccuping.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Gaisuto, Oct 6, 2008.

Oct 6, 2008
  1. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    For the most part ever since I got this laptop, every game I've played on it runs smooth and never chugged. Bioshock, Soulstorm, Mass Effect... But now with simple games like Lego Batman and Warhammer Online, occasionally every few minutes the game freezes for a brief moment then resumes. It normally wouldn't be that big of a deal but it's starting to happen more and more often. And in Warhammer it's happens randomly and when I'm in the middle of a scenario it usually gets me killed. I have 4GB of RAM so I think something's up, but a spyware scan came up with nothing.
     
  2. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure you installed Vista x64 and use Premium Edition(stay away from Ultimate)
    O and ensure you have the LATEST VISTA DRIVERS (very crucial)
     
  3. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    It is the 64bit one... And truth be told I have no idea which edition it is.
     
  4. X D D X

    Member X D D X GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    To find the version Try going to Start, Run and then type "winver".
     
  5. AeroHex

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    sounds like lag
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you might have too many processes running at once can lag the cpu
     
  7. o RedSheLL x

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    Right on, I agree, and @ Hexane26, NO SHIT! [​IMG]
     
  8. elenar

    Member elenar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    I have this problem, from what I can tell it's the video drivers crapping out and then restarting (at least for me). I haven't been able to solve it at all, yet.

    Are you using an nVidia graphics card? I've spoken with other people on the nets that have the problem I have, and have logged it back to video drivers reinitializing. This could be your problem.
     
  9. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    What's wrong with Ultimate?
     
  10. aaron_McNiven

    Newcomer aaron_McNiven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    New South Wales
    Country:
    Australia
    That used to happen to me, problem was if your graphics card is overclocked, turn it down a bit, and it can also happen from to much heat...
     
  11. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    also if you havent done it in a while, but you might want to clean your cpu fan. it can collect dust and increase the temp of your cpu. just get a vacuum cleaner and suck out that dust.
     

Share This Page