1. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie


    Pretty accurate.
     
    huma_dawii and alexander1970 like this.
  2. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, you can go ahead and update it if you have the means to, it's not going to hurt anything and it's probably better to get it done with now rather than updating after your softmod is set up and screwing something up.

    But yeah, you'll definitely want to pull off the clock capacitor if you haven't already, otherwise you will eventually end up with a brick, modded or not.
     
    huma_dawii and alexander1970 like this.
  3. Smashkid15

    Smashkid15 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty Sweet
     
  4. rufuszombot

    rufuszombot Assassin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
    I recently picked up an xbox and really want to softmod it. I have THPS4 (I saw this game works now) and ordered the xbox to USB cable, but I am having a really hard time finding a compatible flash drive. Is there a reliable place in the US to find these that are known to be compatible?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,576
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'd honestly say go for a USB to Xbox cable and plug your controller into the cable.
    Use a MS memoryunit to store and copy the save to your xbox.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  6. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp Member...I guess...
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10,421
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    I still use this one with 256 MB:

    https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B014QUWFH0/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    alos available in the US:

    https://www.amazon.com/-/de/dp/B07K...4&sprefix=BESTRUNNER+usb,aps,294&sr=8-1-fkmr0
     
  7. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp Member...I guess...
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10,421
    Country:
    Austria
    I am sorry......:(

    You can maybe try Aliexpress,they have 64MB up to 256MB,they should work too.:)
     
  8. wbfsnet

    wbfsnet Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Greece
    Hello :)
    I'm a new here and beginner.
    I have got Xbox Classic (MFG. Date: 2002-11-01) without mod chip.
    I want to install softmod my xbox so that I copy my games and I can play copied.
    I haven't got the cable. Can I copy software (evolution x) on disc and I install from disc?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp Member...I guess...
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10,421
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    For the Softmod (includes install something on your XBox) you need:

    - Microsoft XBox Memory Unit
    xbox-memory-unit-xbox-clasico-tarjeta-memoria-nuevo-D_NQ_NP_626525-MLM26877597347_022018-F.jpg

    or

    - USB to XBox Cable
    41i4ZJ3LHgL._SX466_.jpg

    and the free Software "Xplorer 360"


    to get one of the Save Game Exploit (Splinter Cell/Mech Assault/007) on the XBox HDD.
    Then you can run the Exploit from within the matching Game (you need the Original Disc of each Game) and do the Mod.:)



    Other Choice:

    Install a Modchip like Aladdin XT:
    61HypeOKbkL._SX425_.jpg

    Then you can use an Install Disc like Advanced Installer Deluxe or HeXEn.


    Thank you.:)
     
    Last edited by alexander1970, Feb 22, 2020
    MrCokeacola likes this.
  10. wbfsnet

    wbfsnet Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Greece
    Sorry. I don't understand.
    I want to avoid modchip. Because my friend has xbox original the breaking from modchip.
    If I install only Softmod can I copy my games from xbox to pc and I can play my burned games?

    Thank you
     
  11. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp Member...I guess...
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10,421
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)


    You said:
    Then you got two Choices:


    FIRST:

    - Microsoft XBox Memory Unit
    [​IMG]

    On this you can copy the Save Game Exploit (which is NEEDED to Softmod your XBox) on your XBox HDD (which is already inside your XBox - 8GB Western Digital or 10 GB Seagate - depending on the XBox Model/Series).

    In Addition to the Exploit is needed one of the three original XBox Games:

    - Splinter Cell
    - Mech Assault
    - 007:Agent Under Fire

    With the Xplorer 360 Software you copy the somewhere from the Internet (Google helps you) downloaded Exploit from the PC to the Memory Card Unit.
    In the Memory Settings from the XBox you can copy the Save Exploit (it is recognized as a Save State) to the XBox HDD.
    Then you start your matching Game depending which Exploit you have chosen,"load" the Save Game Exploit and the SoftmodInstallation starts.


    Today it is maybe hard to find the Xbox Memory Unit,so an easier and cheaper Way is the use an

    - USB to XBox Cable
    [​IMG]

    - a small USB Stick 64 - 512 MegaByte

    instead of the Xbox Memory Unit.

    Same procedure:

    On this you can copy the Save Game Exploit (which is NEEDED to Softmod your XBox) on your XBox HDD (which is already inside your XBox - 8GB Western Digital or 10 GB Seagate - depending on the XBox Model/Series).

    In Addition to the Exploit is needed one of the three original XBox Games:

    - Splinter Cell
    - Mech Assault
    - 007:Agent Under Fire

    With the Xplorer 360 Software you copy the somewhere from the Internet (Google helps you) downloaded Exploit from the PC to the Memory Card Unit.
    In the Memory Settings from the XBox you can copy the Save Exploit (it is recognized as a Save State) to the XBox HDD.
    Then you start your matching Game depending which Exploit you have chosen,"load" the Save Game Exploit and the SoftmodInstallation starts.






    or SECOND Choice:

    (which you do not want) install a Modchip-:)

    Thank you.:)



    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Addition:

    After that you can "clone" your original XBox HDD to an bigger one
    (you remember the original Xbox HDD has 8 or 10 GB and that is not enough Space for Games)
    with the Xbox Tool "CHIMP".

    For that you have to open your Xbox of course.:D
    Start CHIMP - change the DVD Drive with the new,bigger HDD and you can do the Clone Process.

    After that you can use the XBox Tool "DVD2Xbox" to install Games from DVD to the new HDD.:)
     
    wbfsnet likes this.
  12. fate6

    fate6 Haha, I killed a Pumpkin!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    A softmod will let you play games fine but the issue is getting past the consoles security first to even install a softmod in the first place.
    There are a couple ways of doing this with the most common being getting one of the games listed in the first post and using a USB cable that has been modded to connect with a xbox memory card.

    Another way is hotswap but i would advice against that one.
     
  13. wbfsnet

    wbfsnet Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Greece
    Aaa. Ok understanding now. It is not the required.

    Ok. Thank you.
     
    Last edited by wbfsnet, Feb 23, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  14. burial

    burial GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    United States
    I have an old modded Xbox and was thinking about dusting it off.....what is the best modern way to play backups?
     
  15. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp Member...I guess...
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10,421
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    I can only repeat my Answer from above:

    Easiest and Fastest Way -> Save Game Exploit:


    - Microsoft XBox Memory Unit
    [​IMG]

    On this you can copy the Save Game Exploit (which is NEEDED to Softmod your XBox) on your XBox HDD (which is already inside your XBox - 8GB Western Digital or 10 GB Seagate - depending on the XBox Model/Series).

    In Addition to the Exploit is needed one of the three original XBox Games:

    - Splinter Cell
    - Mech Assault
    - 007:Agent Under Fire

    With the Xplorer 360 Software you copy the somewhere from the Internet (Google helps you) downloaded Exploit from the PC to the Memory Card Unit.
    In the Memory Settings from the XBox you can copy the Save Exploit (it is recognized as a Save State) to the XBox HDD.
    Then you start your matching Game depending which Exploit you have chosen,"load" the Save Game Exploit and the SoftmodInstallation starts.


    Today it is maybe hard to find the Xbox Memory Unit,so an easier and cheaper Way is the use an

    - USB to XBox Cable
    [​IMG]

    - a small USB Stick 64 - 512 MegaByte

    instead of the Xbox Memory Unit.

    Same procedure:

    On this you can copy the Save Game Exploit (which is NEEDED to Softmod your XBox) on your XBox HDD (which is already inside your XBox - 8GB Western Digital or 10 GB Seagate - depending on the XBox Model/Series).

    In Addition to the Exploit is needed one of the three original XBox Games:

    - Splinter Cell
    - Mech Assault
    - 007:Agent Under Fire

    With the Xplorer 360 Software you copy the somewhere from the Internet (Google helps you) downloaded Exploit from the PC to the Memory Card Unit.
    In the Memory Settings from the XBox you can copy the Save Exploit (it is recognized as a Save State) to the XBox HDD.
    Then you start your matching Game depending which Exploit you have chosen,"load" the Save Game Exploit and the SoftmodInstallation starts.

    Addition:

    After that you can "clone" your original XBox HDD to an bigger one
    (you remember the original Xbox HDD has 8 or 10 GB and that is not enough Space for Games)
    with the Xbox Tool "CHIMP".

    For that you have to open your Xbox of course.:D
    Start CHIMP - change the DVD Drive with the new,bigger HDD and you can do the Clone Process.

    After that you can use the XBox Tool "DVD2Xbox" to install Games from DVD to the new HDD.



    or

    Install a Modchip like Aladdin XT:
    [​IMG]

    Then you can use a new,bigger HDD and an Install Disc like Advanced Installer Deluxe or HeXEn.


    or

    TSOP Flash (unfortunately not possible on Model 1.6 !)

    - needs to open the XBox
    - depends on Model - bridge 2-3 Points on the Mainboard (with Electrically conductive adhesive or soldering them)
    - run a Flashtool and flash a custom BIOS on the XBox
    - use a bigger HDD and an Install Disc like Advanced Installer Deluxe or HeXEn.


    Your Choice.
    Thank you and Good Luck.:)


    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    If already modded:

    You can get your Disc Games with DVD2Xbox on it.
    You can use Qwix to upload your ISOS via FTP on the XBox HDD.
    You can use C-XBox Tool to upload HDD ready Games to the XBox HDD.
     
  16. thegamer1185

    thegamer1185 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    You guys seem to know a lot about modding original xbox's :) I guess I'll ask this question here. Doe's anyone know if a modded NTSC Xbox plays PAL games at the correct 50hz speed? Using the Enigmah software changes the output to 50hz properly, my TV recognizes the change and displays at 720x576, just curious if the NTSC modded box is actually playing the game at the correct 50hz or if it's not quite identical. Thanks for the help.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  17. GimmeCode

    GimmeCode Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wish the mods for the original Xbox would have a version of it to work with the current Xbox one.
     
  18. MrCokeacola

    MrCokeacola The Xbox Guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Canada
    Should be.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  19. Casefiles
    This message by Casefiles has been removed from public view by DinohScene, Aug 15, 2020, Reason: Self promoting.
    Aug 15, 2020
  20. Acid_Snake

    Acid_Snake Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Spain
    There is a much cheaper method for those who can't find the original games online (happened to me).
    All you need is:
    - A generic IDE to USB adapter (a cheap one from china worked well for me).
    - An opened Xbox console to expose the DVD and HDD.
    - A Windows 10 PC and this software: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzRN8P835YijUFloekdzaUVyMFk/view

    The overall steps are:
    - Open up your console to expose DVD and HDD drives.
    - Disconnect power or IDE cable from the DVD drive (but NOT from the HDD).
    - Power on your console until you see an error message on screen.
    - Quickly disconnect the IDE cable from the HDD (NOT the power cable) and connect the IDE adapter to it and your PC.
    - Run XboxHDM and use option to scan connected drives. It should show your XBox HDD as UNLOCKED.
    - If it's UNLOCKED you can proceed to format the HDD (which also installs Unleashed dashboard).
    - If it's LOCKED, power off your console, reconnect the HDD to the console's IDE and try again.
    - If all goes well you should be able to reconnect everything back to the console and power it on to finish the softmod.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Microsoft, Hacking, Guide