micro sd hang/slow

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by aimansss95, Dec 28, 2008.

Dec 28, 2008

micro sd hang/slow by aimansss95 at 1:37 PM (1,223 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    well..the place that i buy my micro sd suggest that i just buy a 2 gig micro sd card because 4-16 gig will only make the game slow..or hang...is that true? slow loading game at the start point...that kind of stuff
     
  2. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Not necessarily. Some brands work better than others.
    Some MicroSDHCs will have in-game lag/freezing and some won't. The "class" doesn't really indicate the Random Access Time, which is what causes the problems (the "class" indicates the write speed, which is independent of the read rate, and of the RAT).

    However, on many cards which suffer from lag there is a fix, which has worked on every slow card I've personally dealt with.

    The RAT of Flash media is affected by the quality of the card, and on the FAT Cluster Size. In short, the larger the cluster size, the quicker the RAT, and thus the less lag/freezing.

    Changing the cluster size requires reformatting the MicroSD.

    Windows/DOS
    Code:
    FORMAT X: /FS:FAT32 /A:32K
    (Where X: is the drive letter of your MicroSDHC)
    Linux
    Code:
    mkdosfs -S 512 -s 64 -F 32 -I /dev/sdx
    (where /dev/sdx is the device of yout MicroSDHC)
    If you do that on any but the worst MicroSDHC, you will have no Random Access Time freezing/lag.

    So in conclusion, with the right know-how, a MicroSDHC is a very safe choice.
     
  3. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    does the kind or flash card we used will effect it?? i'm a dstt
     
  4. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Almost definitely not.
    Before I cluster-size-fixed, Final Fantasy III DS froze in the intro FMV on an EZ5+, EDGE, and a CycloDS. After I fixed it, it worked perfectly in all of them.

    I would say with confidence that almost any MicroSDHC will work as well as could possibly be expected with your DSTT.
     
  5. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    i don't know if this is to mich to ask....how do you reformat it?
     
  6. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    I've already said in this thread [​IMG]
     
  7. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    i don't actually understand it...lol...sorry...um..do we need any special program to do this?
     
  8. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Have you ever used the command line before? [​IMG]
    Run the DOS/Windows command I suggested (replacing the X:) in a Command Prompt after backing up your files.
    That will solve all your problems.
     
  9. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    if what i understad is true..open my computer and right click at my micro sd and press format?
     
  10. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    ok..i already format the file system to FAT32...but i don't understand the allocation unit size...i mean you post (aphisrt) saying = A:32K...? and after the allocation thing..it shows a volume label...should i type anything or just leave it as it be?? AND! do i need to change anything in the format options box?? help me PLEASE
     
  11. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    owh...and under the allocation thing it just keep showing this -default allocation size- can't change it
     
  12. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Run the command:
    FORMAT X: /FS:FAT32 /A:32K

    In a Command Prompt, replacing X: with the drive letter of your MicroSDHC. I've already said this. [​IMG]

    P.S. Epic triple post there [​IMG] // I was away doing more important things [​IMG]
     
  13. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    no..i already understand it.. i only doesn't understand this..A:32K..if you mean the allocation thing...well i just can't change it
     
  14. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    I myself don't use Windows very much (I'm a Linux user), but I do know that while you might not be able to change the allocation in the GUI formatter, you CAN if you format manually with the command line.
     
  15. aimansss95
    OP

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    owh..thanks for helping me anyway
     

Share This Page