Merging ISO parts?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jakemaheu, Sep 21, 2008.

Sep 21, 2008

Merging ISO parts? by jakemaheu at 12:16 AM (6,043 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. jakemaheu
    OP

    Newcomer jakemaheu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, well I dumped my [legal] copy of Super Mario Galaxy [RGME], and now I can't figure out how to get them into one .iso file. I used Waninkoko's Disc Dumper and have it in 9 pieces at 512MB each. They are all .iso files. I've tried searching, but the only results are nitrotux's 1.0 dumper (which dumps in .bin, apparently) and some Wiikey articles.
     


  2. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Do these in the command line.

    For Linux:
    Code:
    cat file1.iso file2.iso ... > file.iso
    For Windows:
    Code:
    copy file1.iso file2.iso ... > file.iso
     
  3. jakemaheu
    OP

    Newcomer jakemaheu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it, and it gives me a 41 byte .iso file.
    WTF?
     
  4. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Wait until it finishes.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. jakemaheu
    OP

    Newcomer jakemaheu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    How long should it take, BTW?
     
  6. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    A while.
    It's combining a lot.

    Give it 5 minutes or so.
     
  7. jakemaheu
    OP

    Newcomer jakemaheu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks-- I'll post when it finishes.
     
  8. jakemaheu
    OP

    Newcomer jakemaheu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Goddammit it isn't working.

    EDIT: GODDAMMIT I think I have to redump a chunk.
     
  9. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
  10. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    I just extracted the first file with Winrar and all ports came together and it works fine.
     
  11. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have WiFi.
     
  12. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try "copy /b iso1.iso+iso2.iso+iso3.iso+.......... isofull.iso"
     
  13. xcalibardead

    Newcomer xcalibardead Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please can someone explain in a little more detail on how to do this. I dont even know what programme to run the 'command line with'. CMD? Im on Windows Vista BTW
     
  14. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Windows is ultimate fail.
    On the other hand, Linux is ultimate free and open-source win.

    Open command prompt. Do not run a program with it...noob.
     
  15. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on Vista too, so I can assure you this works...

    Open command prompt (CMD)
    Navigate to the location of all of your pieces ("cd C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\" or whatever)

    Type "copy /b p1.iso + p2.iso + p3.iso + p4.iso full.iso", where 'p1.iso' is the first piece of the iso, 'p2.iso' is the second piece, and so on... and 'full.iso' is what you want to name the entire thing after it's pieced together.
     
  16. xcalibardead

    Newcomer xcalibardead Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all the help Guys on this! It Worked! Off Topic but does anyone know how to find out what region wii i have? E.G Japanese or US Wii? I live in UK Purchased Wii on Amazon. Realised i need 2 update my wii with the correspondin update to my wii region. Thanks
     
  17. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    People like you really make linux users look like a bunch of assholes and don't help the cause. Not everyone is born with a bachelor's in computer science you know.

    And flashing around a pgp encrypted link in your sig no one can use really speaks a lot for your character too. Not trolling, just calling it like it is.
     
  18. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    go into the wii settings menu (where you set tv resolution/wifi/etc) and it should be printed in the upper right hand corner your version number (2.x or 3.x and a letter U-Usa E-Europe J-Japanese)
     
  19. xcalibardead

    Newcomer xcalibardead Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks again for the great Reply. Lol ... I'm sorry but last question. After i have brick Blocked my ISO and Patched the ISO with back-uo Creator, ImgBurn gives me the following error message when i try to burn the ISO 'Invalid or unsupported image file format!'. Any help?
     
  20. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Might be an imgburn or your burner maybe, try clonecd or nero and see if it opens with them and let us know how it goes.
     

Share This Page