1. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Alright tbh I couldn't find the official thread for menuhax. Only one that was for sharing custom themes. So recently I got a n3ds xl 9.0.0-20U, and installed cfw and menuhax. On my old 2ds when I use menuhax I usually get into emunand the first try. However on the n3ds xl it works about a quarter to a third of the time. I was wondering if there was any fix to this, or if I just need to wait for menuhax to improve. If anyone could direct me to a thread discussing this, I would gladly appreciate it. Thanks. :nds:
     
  2. herolarcio

    herolarcio The difference is night and day.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Use a differentlauncher like Masher's grid launcher. That seems to work better for me.
     
  3. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Does Masher's Grid Launcher allow you to boot emunand/hbl from launch?
     
  4. Blue

    Blue GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,594
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :nds:=:teach:
    :yay3ds:=:hrth:

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I think you can.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  5. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Hmm, I can't find the thread either. I do remember reading that having an image show at startup instead of whatever was dumped to the screen from the RAM increases the successful boot rate percentage a bit.

    from https://github.com/yellows8/3ds_homemenuhax

    Here's the thread with custom boot images if you don't feel like making one yourself: https://gbatemp.net/threads/menuhax-2-0-custom-main-screen-images.401528/
     
    BeefBaby likes this.
  6. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    A
    Alright I don't know how to install those boot images, but I did install the default one and you were right. It seems it's working everytime. Thanks :grog:
     
  7. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Actually nevermind. I just got the menuhax screen then white on bottom....
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Perhaps you ought to uninstall and then re-install menuhax to see if that helps. What I quoted earlier gives you instructions, but in a nutshell:
    • The PNG dimensions must be either 800x240 or 240x800.
    • Put the PNG in this directory on the SD, naming it as such: "/3ds/menuhax_manager/imagedisplay.png".
     
    BeefBaby likes this.
  9. Menuhax just doesn't have perfect boot rates. There are times where you'll get stuck on a white screen and sometimes on a yellow screen.
    In fact, I don't think any of the entry points have 100% success boot rates.
     
    BeefBaby likes this.
  10. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm using the ctrboot manager as boot.3dsx. With a 1 second delay (to optionally choose smea's launcher) the manager then boots the gridlauncher.
    Boot rate seems to be pretty much perfect, it has never failed.
    (N3DS on 9.5FW, menuhax with 2.5)
     
    BeefBaby likes this.
  11. The failure occurs before the hax can load a boot.3dsx so I don't think it affects anything.
     
    BeefBaby likes this.
  12. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Alright installing the custom image seemed to help out. Way better than before atleast. I'll take a 50/50 bootrate over the 1/4 boot rate earlier. Lol thanks everyone.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    One more question for you pingouin7. Say I boot into emunand, then I use say cubicninja to boot ctr again and get to hbl. After being done with hbl it restarts and starts ctr boot manager again. If I choose rxtools(emunand), or let the time run out and it defaulty chooses emunand. I get a black screen on top with red on bottom. I'm guessing this is caused by the system trying to load emunand again after it's already been booted. Any work around for this or should I just restart when I want to access hbl again?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I guess I could just select reboot, then select emunand. Should fix it.
     
  13. I am not entirely sure what you mean.
    By the way, if all you want is exit from HBL back to emunand, hold down L+R+B+Down until the bottom screen turns pink. It should give an error and send you back to home menu on emunand.
    (That is, if you accesses HBL via Cubic Ninja on emunand.)
    Also I would recommend simply using yellows8's HBL Loader in emunand instead of Cubic Ninja CIA. It's easier and faster. :3
     
    BeefBaby likes this.
  14. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using that lol. Thank you.
     
  15. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I have a custom firmware related question: I'll only ask it here and all I ask is that someone PM me to help me solve my issue. I won't discuss it here, but I can't get a solid answer from anyone on here.
    I want to dump DSiWare from my EmuNand. I don't want to dump all the applications throughout my EmuNand. Only 1! I want it to be a install-able .CIA formatted file. Again, I apologize sincerely for asking this here, but, I can't get help for nothing! PM me please if you wish to help me. To avoid making a completely unrelated post, I'll contribute here somehow. ( I don't know much here about menuhax. )
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    So, is Menuhax your only option? Can't you use OOThax or something?
     
  16. BeefBaby

    OP BeefBaby GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Well OOThax is the same as ninjahax and ironhax. All 3 require you to launch a game which is pretty inconvient if you always want to be in emunand. Menuhax allows you to boot straight into emunand off start up. I think adding a custom image to the menuhax boot sequence fixed the problem. I haven't got a yellow/white bottom screen in awhile. Thanks though. :P
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Menuhax,