Megaman 9 DLC Compatability

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Tranquil, Oct 9, 2008.

Oct 9, 2008

Megaman 9 DLC Compatability by Tranquil at 7:02 PM (13,042 Views / 0 Likes) 60 replies

  1. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    So I was at my friend's yesterday, and he installed a MM9 wad on his Wii. But as for the Downloadable Content, we decided to just buy it to see if it would work with a non-bought game. It seemed to work fine. Now on MY Wii, I actually bought the game and am curious if it will work the other way around...

    1) Have wads been released for DLC yet? (I'm not asking for them, just asking if they exist)

    2) And if they do, does anyone know if they will work with a LEGIT game?
     


  2. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    WADs with DLC usually have the DLC built right into them I believe...I've been kinda out of the loop recently.
     
  3. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    No, from what I've heard from people who have it is that new data is actually saved onto your Wii, so I'm really not sure if it would work...
     
  4. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    it worked for FFMLAAK but i'm not sure about this... i only got 300 wii points...
     
  5. Xlom3000

    Newcomer Xlom3000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    I've got the data and ticket for it on my laptop, as far as compiling it, tf packer only seems to notice the game itself. The DLC does have it's own title.tmd though if someone can point me in a direction to compile it, I could be inclined to do so for you.
     
  6. Rockman GFF

    Member Rockman GFF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Repacking the game definitely doesn't have any effect from what I tried.

    I've been trying to pack the Data from 00010005\7752394A\. The TITLE.TMD indicates there's other APP Files needed to pack it as a WAD. I was assuming it wants the Data that isn't released yet.

    I've also tried editing the TITLE.TMD to make it so I only need to pack the 3 APPs. I seem to get an Error -4100 in the WAD Manager when I try to install the newly edited TITLE.TMD. =\
     
  7. RadioShadow

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try packing it with Blaze. It worked when I packed the Sambi De Amigo Download Content.
     
  8. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    So...does it work?
     
  9. Xlom3000

    Newcomer Xlom3000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    I've almost got it. I'm pretty sure the extra files it needs are the shared files. The problem I'm having now is a (ret= -2011) when installing the ticket. My ticket may be bad? (or I'm not using it correctly? OR it's possible I'm not using the newest blaze? I only fond 0.1)

    I did manage to get the wad I made to UNINSTALL my mm9 dlc... so I'm getting somewhere. But now I have no dlc except for what I have copied from the wii already. Game wants me to rebuy it now.
     
  10. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Try moving the folder (7752394A, as stated by Rockman GFF) out of the 00010005 folder and into the 00010001 folder. That should trick my wad packer into seeing it as a game and thus it should go through and find all the shared files for you. This is all hypothetical btw, since I don't have any files here to test with.
     
  11. Xlom3000

    Newcomer Xlom3000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    theoretically that would work, but they both have a 00000004.app that are of different sizes


    edit: nvm I see what you are saying now. I'll give it a shot
     
  12. Xlom3000

    Newcomer Xlom3000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    I found out what caused the 2011. It was the key that came with the blaze I downloaded. substituted for a known good key and it got to adding content package #2 before erroring
     
  13. Rockman GFF

    Member Rockman GFF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    According to the TMD, there are no Shared Apps.

    Sticking Shared Apps in will cause the Game not to load when installed with an Error Message to Delete the Wii System Memory through the Settings.
     
  14. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    So all the APPs listed in the TMD are present? Odd.
     
  15. Rockman GFF

    Member Rockman GFF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    The TMD is basically a Complete Listing of all the DLC APP Files. As 2 out of 5 DLCs are Released. It's hard to pack a WAD of it in terms of Automated TMD Packers.

    It'll be easier and work once you have all the DLC Installed.

    There's 6 APP Files needed. 00000000.APP is the usual Save Icon stuff, 00000001~5 are the DLC.

    00000001.APP is Proto Man Mode (Blues Mode)
    00000004.APP is Endless Attack Mode

    We're missing 2, 3, and 5 for it to work with an Untamed TMD. I haven't gotten anywhere hexing the TMD either. =\
     
  16. Xlom3000

    Newcomer Xlom3000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    It's interesting that they do it that way, but I guess it makes sense. I guess that means they only ever plan on releasing 5 add-ons though. wonder if dummying them out would work. I guess not since it would again check the file size and have a miss match.

    It's really all more than likely a key to unlock it in the game itself. The xbox version downloads are both 108kb which is usually a sign of it being in the game already and just needing the key to unlock it.
     
  17. Rockman GFF

    Member Rockman GFF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
  18. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly did you change when you were hexing up the TMD?
     
  19. Rockman GFF

    Member Rockman GFF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    0x159 (Whatever the ROOT was at the end from 4 -> 3)
    0x1DE (6 -> 3)

    I've done it both ways at least twice. I've also renamed the APP Files too. Renamed / Arranged them to 0~2. =\
     
  20. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure why you're changing 0x159, but that shouldn't matter. Changing 0x1DE makes sense, but are you also removing the missing content blocks (the ones that start at 0x1E4) that correspond to the apps you don't have?

    EDIT: Ahh, you're editing your post on me.
     

Share This Page