mbr partitioned flash drive.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Narayan, Apr 1, 2012.

Apr 1, 2012

mbr partitioned flash drive. by Narayan at 1:52 PM (507 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Narayan
    OP

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    [​IMG]

    i made an 8GB flash drive a bootable usb, now i want to use it again, but when i tried formatting it again, it only lets me forma 1.91GB.

    what do i do?
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,414
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Usually, you can either :
    - delete the partition, and create a new/bigger one.
    or
    - Resize the existing partition to take full available space.
     
  3. Narayan
    OP

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    how can i delete it and extend or shrink is greyed out.
    i can only format that new volume (H:)
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,414
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Maybe a stupid Windows restriction on removable media :/
    You should try other partitioning program. (I know only Gparted and Acronis)

    Edit:
    Or maybe a linux distribution (Live disc, or VMWare)
     
  5. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Try using this . Just use it to delete the whole thing & make a new partition with the whole space .
     
  6. Narayan
    OP

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    @[member='Cyan']
    Gparted seems to require a bootable device, which is the one i am formatting. didn't understand where i can partition my flash drive with acronis though.

    this worked. thanks.
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,414
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Gparted can be run from a bootable CD

    I'm glad you could fix your problem :)
     
  8. Narayan
    OP

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    didn't think of that. silly me. well i don't use cds often.
     

Share This Page